We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty Pizza, Nice Spirits & Cultural Atmoshpere”

Fino - Bistro Bar Pizzeria
Ranked #683 of 4,270 Restaurants in Portland
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tasty Pizza, Nice Spirits & Cultural Atmoshpere”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stumbled upon Pizza Fino on our Spring Break trip to Portland. We were staying in the Jantzen Beach area and wanted some "good" pizza for a change so we goggled the area and found Fino. I didn't know what to expect for neighborhood or anything but was pleasantly surprised by the "upscale" location. Doesn't look like much from the outside but once inside the smells arouse your senses and the atmosphere is eclectic. Ordered a large pie as the only offer two sizes, small & large (decided later that we could have subsisted on a small), and had a cold draft & watched the NCAA tourney while I waited at the bar. The front area has a couple booths & small tables with the bar. The hallway on the right leads past the bar to a dining area which I didn't go check out.
The pizza was thin crust, not my favorite, but was very good. I would like to see them incorporate a pan style but would go back when in the area again. Staff was helpful and friendly and the price was what you would expect from this type of establishment.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doug_Keri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    20
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
144 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Getting better”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Not sure if they have a new chef, but the food seems to be improving. The wait staff, well at least some of them, are actually enjoyable and knowledgable now. There are still a lot of screaming kids, running around out of control on more nights than you would care to count, however, I think Pizza Fino has moved from our "we are desperate with nowhere else to go" list, to our "hey, it's in the neighborhood and we did like that last pizza. Oh, and the screaming kids were all just leaving as we arrived." list.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PDX_1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
144 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Getting tired”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We have been going to Pizza Fino since it opened. It's had it's good months and it's had it's bad months. The food has been predictably average at best. There is never a "Wow" factor with this restaurant. If you are looking for pizza, this is a good choice. If you are looking for creative Italian food, look elsewhere.
Let's talk about the staff. Hit and miss. A few are very personable and professional. Others have been there too long and need to move on.
Atmosphere. Again, hit and miss. You may have a night where it is quiet and cozy, or you may have a night where there are screaming kids running around everywhere. Our experience has been less quiet and cozy and more out of control rug rats.
Botom line: If you've never been, try it once and form your own opinion. We still go to Pizza Fino, but only when all other options are off the table. It is our "restaurant of last resort when the only other option is cooking at home."

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PDX_1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royersford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Seconds please!”
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

We went to Pizza Fino while staying at a nearby Best Western. As soon as we walked in I knew it was just right: friendly professional staff, smells to tempt you to order the entire menu and a warm atmosphere. we had our 1 yr. Old with us and he was also greeted kindly, another good sign that this is family friendly despite the history atmosphere. Now for the best part, the Summer Gnocchi was out of this world! It was clearly handmade and had that melt in your mouth quality...almost as good as what I had in Italy that I compare every gnocchi thereafter to! It had a corn infused cream sauce accented by fresh mozzarella and cherry tomatoes. We were told this seasonal dish is only on the menu for a few more days but I have no doubt that the winter selections will be just as good. We also had some decent arancini balls, and nice garlicy fettucini Alfredo with homemade tasting noodles. From start to finish the meal was excellent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ericandemily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
126 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Cozy Neighborhood Gem”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Pasta, Pizza and more. Food and service were both good at this neighborhood bistro. Daily specials and a yummy Spinach Artichoke dip.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank MsLBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fino - Bistro Bar Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Fino - Bistro Bar Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing