We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Ramen in Portland”

Kizuki Ramen & Izakaya
Order Online
Ranked #381 of 5,039 Restaurants in Portland
Description: Kizuki Ramen's philosophy is to serve the most traditional, authentic and delicious Japanese ramen that you can possibly have without actually flying to Japan. Kizuki's food is still prepared the same way as it is in Japan; utilizing an unique method of roasting bones before boiling. Similar to the French style of making consomme, they were the first in the Japanese ramen industry to employ this method. The result is a rich, flavorful broth that is fragrant, and full of depth. Devoted to replicating the incredible flavor of traditional Japanese ramen, if equal substitutes for ingredients are not found within the country, Kizuki Ramen imports the ingredients directly from Japan. To provide a full Japanese restaurant experience, Kizuki Ramen flies their designer in to create each and every one of their American outlets.
Restaurant details
Description: Kizuki Ramen's philosophy is to serve the most traditional, authentic and delicious Japanese ramen that you can possibly have without actually flying to Japan. Kizuki's food is still prepared the same way as it is in Japan; utilizing an unique method of roasting bones before boiling. Similar to the French style of making consomme, they were the first in the Japanese ramen industry to employ this method. The result is a rich, flavorful broth that is fragrant, and full of depth. Devoted to replicating the incredible flavor of traditional Japanese ramen, if equal substitutes for ingredients are not found within the country, Kizuki Ramen imports the ingredients directly from Japan. To provide a full Japanese restaurant experience, Kizuki Ramen flies their designer in to create each and every one of their American outlets.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a great bowl of ramen and great service! Had the Yuzu Shiro which was excellent! This ramen is like eating in Japan!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Donna97239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (69)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 69 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2019

This place has reinstated my faith in Ramen, solid ramen with fresh and wholesome produce. Great value for money and the service was fantastic too!!

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Brendan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2019

With the help of other family members who have been here a number of times, three of us selected the Garlic Tonkotsu Ramen and the other choices were the Spicy Ramen and Karaage Don. All of them were excellent. Service from Jarret A was very good. No wait to get a table. Will be back on next visit to Portland

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dennis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2018

Our friend took us here for lunch after shopping in the area. We were here on an October Tuesday around 1:45 PM. The restaurant was still busy and we had to wait for about 5 minutes.

We ordered the following:
• Geso Karaage ($6.50) – deep fried squid tentacles with Japanese citrus and chili peppers. Didn’t look too appetizing because the finished products was a dark brown colour as if it was over fried. I was comparing the colour of the finished product and the chicken karaage that we also ordered so I asked the server about the dark coloured tentacles and she said that is the way it was suppose to be. The dark brown colour could be from using old oil or possibly the use of a dark marinade, if any. However the tentacles were tender (not chewy) but bland; could have have used more seasoning as I didn’t taste the citrus or chili peppers.
• Chicken ramen ($9) with low sodium shoyu broth and green vegetables. The broth was tasty and was good value.
• Chicken karaage don ($10) – with rice (at least 1 1/2 bowls), salad greens drizzled with the house sesame dressing. Large amount of chicken karaage and rice.
• Ten Don – assortment of tempura vegetables and shrimp on a bed of rice. Like the chicken don there was lots of rice; 1 1/2 – 2 bowls. The tempura was “pre-drizzled” with dipping sauce. The vegetables included 1 mushroom, 2 slices of squash, 1 slice potato, 2 slices of eggplant, 2 slices of zucchini and 2 shrimp. I asked for more sauce as there wasn’t really much and I have never heard of tempura being “pre-drizzled”. Average tasting tempura that I thought was overpriced for what you got.

The total bill before the tip was $36.50

Ratings breakdown:
• Quality and taste – average
• Portion size vis-à-vis price – average but I thought the ten don bowl was overpriced.
• Service – average

Nothing really exciting and just average food in my opinion that earns a 3 out of 5 rating.

Notes & Tips
• Vegetarian options
• Complimentary tea
• Seating for more than 50 and another 10 at the counter
• Located in a strip mall with plenty of parking
• Locations across 4 states and also Taiwan, Australia and Japan
• Check website for additional information
• The original name of the restaurant chain was “Kukai Ramen & Izakaya”. The restaurant name was changed for a few reasons; one being kukai translates to “poop” in the Hawaiian language.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Bottomshelfhockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2018

Great ramen. Good service. However, if you are a single you are "required" to sit at the bar. It doesn't matter how many tables are open.

If you you want a little privacy and quiet with your meal, or maybe you just don't want to sit elbow to elbow with a stranger who might not share your commitment to hygiene and table manners.

I checked with the server and manager, Tristen.
Offered to wait and was told "no" sit at the bar or leave

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 868derryy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kizuki Ramen & Izakaya also viewed

 

Been to Kizuki Ramen & Izakaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing