We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique Pizza Experience”
Review of Dove Vivi

Dove Vivi
Ranked #447 of 4,270 Restaurants in Portland
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
132 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Unique Pizza Experience”
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

This is pizza for a more gourmet palate, and a delicious one it is. The cornmeal crust pies are served in a skillet and have fresh-made, seasonal, locally-sourced toppings. For example, on a recent visit one of the specials was a delicious anchovy-escarole, which sounds a bit scary but was amazing. Beet salad, kale salad, multiple veggie options round out the menu. (But the pepperoni and sausage are also tasty and good quality.) Only downside is that the wine prices seem on the high end for this setting and menu.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    14
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Goose Creek, SC
Level Contributor
112 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Amazing crust”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Ordered the veggie pizza take out. The crust was still crispy and the veggie topping delicious when I got it home. An unusual crust and the best veggie pizza I've had in a long time, so I'll definitely go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ouchfirehot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pizza to die for!”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Our visit to Portland 2 weeks ago included a stop at Dove Vivi for pizza. You can get pizza with cashews, corn, balsamic vinegar caramelized onions, pesto—plus other ingredients one doesn't usually associate with pizza. Well, with the unusual and delicious cornmeal crust, any one of those ingredients makes this the best pizza I have ever eaten. I cannot even pick out a favorite because they are all so very yummy. I must say the goat cheese and pesto and corn/onion do rank at the top of my list. Then there is the cashew. . . . and well, you get the picture.

Salads? The Kale salad was wonderful. No time or room for the beet salad, but I'm sure that one is top-notch as well. Plus there are always a few daily specials. With variety like this you can come back again and again and never tire of pizza. They sell by the slice too, so you needn't tie yourself down to one choice. Here you can have it all!

The staff is top-notch as well. Smiling, friendly faces—what more can you ask for?

Well, for me I'd ask that they were closer to my home. Unfortunately I live 1,176 miles away in West Allis, Wisconsin.

DO visit DOVE Vivi when you are in Portland! You'll be back again and again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MzPolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“a rare 5 star review”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I think this is the best pizza in town. There have been 3 different pizzerias through the generations in this building, and they use the same old gorgeous cast iron wood flame oven. The pizza is is truly extraordinary. The vegan cashew is just so comforting and yummy and filling. Get an extra piece and bring it home and it's extraordinary at home. The staff is always truly friendly here. And the beer is great. Parking is not great, but they've gone the extra mile such as putting warming lamps by the outdoor tables and you can wait there and have a drink while waiting for a table. Go early and no line and it just smells like a wood fire and yummy spices. We really like this place, if you can't tell already.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank longtrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
238 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Oh, the roasted corn and caramelized pizza!”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Best pizza in town. Only open for dinner. Delicious side salads.. especially the beet salad. Yumm.
The pesto pizza and the corn pizza (when in season) are the best. Service can be very slow. Go before 6 or after 7:30. It is a small place with terrible parking.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BarefootBuddies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dove Vivi also viewed

 

Been to Dove Vivi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing