We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Late Saturday Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Biwa

Biwa
Ranked #760 of 4,249 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Burlingame, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Late Saturday Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Great meal with friends at this "basement" eclectic delicious spot. As with all of Portland, I felt like the oldest person in the room--a very "hip" vibe, and crowded, even at 10:30. I think we tried just about everything among our 6, and nothing was disappointing. I see some shock about the 5% for employee healthcare added to the bill--no biggie for a SF diner, this will become the norm before long. Deal with it eaters.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank R P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    25
    7
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
prince george
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“fantastic experience, extra charges left a bad taste”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

food awesome
decor awesome
service awesome

absolutely loved this restaurant,
the only thing that annoyed me was the 18% mandatory gratuity for parties of 6 or more (ok, no problem, industry standard), but there was also a 5% extra charge for employee health care. (excuse me?, just pay your employees more, charge more for your food, or put mandatory tip at 23%)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pgtraveller27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
172 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Very Similar to a Real Tokyo Bar; Creative Small Plates, a Little Loud”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Modern, spare daylight basement interior. Open the door to a blast of conversation and warm air.

Very creative, mostly cooked menu items. Unusual ingredients, unusual combinations, genuine Japanese flavor elements.

Serious selection of sakes with descriptions to help you navigate and learn. Filtered, partially filtered and unfiltered. Japanese whiskey drinks too.

Friendly, attentive, swift service.

Most full-bodied and complex miso I have encountered. Mushroom salad special was a wonderfully complex mix of flavors. We had to get a second! This is a great place to share plates. It is convenient to keep ordering as you go along, since the plates are prepared so quickly.

Damn the prices, full speed ahead!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulParks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Satisfy your noodle craving”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Biwa offers excellent home-style Japanese dishes, featuring handmade ramen and udon noodles. Ordered a steamy, generous ramen bowl with seaweed, deep-fried kimchee karaage and sesame cabbage salad. All were excellent. Great late-night menu as well, plus happy hour ramen for $5.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Modern Day N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Inventive Asian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is a welcoming, delicious restaurant with an inventive Japanese with Korean influenced menu in South East Portland. It's worth the trip.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnneMai84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Biwa also viewed

 
Portland, OR
 

Been to Biwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing