We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best now & always!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Portland's White House Inn
Ranked #2 of 34 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2007

After a year of staying elsewhere on frequent trips to Portland...I found a dream could be reality! Fabulous accomodations, delicious breakfast, great location and wonderful welcomes! I have been staying here every chance I get!! I have had the great good luck in life to stay in incredible hotels around the world from Hong Kong to Paris...and the White House more than matches the standard they set!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank epiinsight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (490)
There are newer reviews for Portland's White House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

414 - 420 of 490 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2007

We were happy to end our vacation at a bed and breakfast that spoiled us with yummy cookies and chocolates as we walked in the room after a long day of driving. The breakfast is very delicious as long as you are willing to try new things. Loved all of the fresh fruit and the huge portions! In fact, we never had to eat much lunch because we would always be so full from breakfast. While quick on the phone with booking, it didn't take long to warm up to Lanning once we met him. The bed was extremely comfortable with a luxurious down comforter and pillow top. I would definitely recommend this bed and breakfast to any Portland traveler.

Stayed: September 2007
2  Thank Citysnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2007

This hotel was the best property in all 2 weeks we spent in Oregon. The owner is gregarious, funny, helpful and interesting. Its nice to have a choice of breakfast times and breakfast was fabulous. There were sizeable bowls of fresh Oregon fruits each morning with incredible entrees. The property is beautifully cared for and the owner's antique collection is spectacular. Public transportation is nearby and functions well. I would recommend this hotel to everyone!

Stayed: August 2007
3  Thank Anne15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2007

We recently returned from a three week trip to the States. Amongst other places, we spent a week driving through Oregon, beginning with a two night stay in Portland, at Lanning and Steve's Portland's White House. What a marvelous stay. The greeting was warm and gracious. Our room was full of antiques, including a down covered four poster that just invited you to loll away the rainy day. Home made cookies and chocolates awaited us. Molton Brown goodies in the bathroom. Breakfast was en famille at the candlelit mahogany dining table with the other guests. Lanning's breakfasts are fit for a king (and queen). The various patios allowed us to sit outside in the quiet garden, perusing the newspapers provided. Lanning's treasures fill the house. Something more than a B&B, yet without the impersonal touch of a hotel. We would recommend Portland's White House any time, and if our travels take us back to Portland, we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank World-Traveller58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2007

We had an awesome stay the the White House in July. The service was great and the room was quiet and romantic. Breakfast in the morning was fresh and delicious, and it was suprisingly fun to sit around the big table and get to know some strangers. (this coming from a fairly big introvert!) The neighborhood was fine, but not a place we'd spent a lot of time.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank kpand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2007

I wanted to add more detail to my quick review below.

Portland' s White House hosted our wedding in July, 2007. Lanning, the owner, was up-front and fair about costs and details from the beginning. He reassured us that his staff would take care of every detail, and they did!

What surprised us, more than anything, was the outstanding quality of the food - fine NW-themed cuisine, including a divine avocado and berry salad that Lanning claims to have first seen in a dream. Our wedding food was the best food any of us had ever tasted.

Even if you're not booking for a wedding, don't hesitate to stay Portland's White House. It will without question be one of your best bed and breakfast experiences ever.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PDXLED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2007

We have just completed one of the most wonderful and exhausting events of our lives, our daughters wedding. But, it was one of the best days of our lives due mostly to Portland's White House, and the owner, Lanning. He enabled us to simply relax and truly enjoy this amazing event. Not only did he make the day great for us, but he also made the experiance relaxing and enjoyable for all of our family staying in this beautiful home. He spoiled everyone with superior comfort and food beyond belief. The wedding was managed by him, and ran so smothly, I didn't even notice all the work I know had to be going on in the background. The building and gardens were picture perfect and the photographer he recommended was able to truly capture the beauty provided. Can I recommend it? YES! The place to go in Portland if you truly want to be pampered and made to feel like royalty.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank beaniePortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 144 in Portland
1,735 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 144 in Portland
2,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#9 of 144 in Portland
1,545 reviews
Hotel Eastlund
#12 of 144 in Portland
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland's White House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland's White House Inn

Address: 1914 NE 22nd Ave, Portland, OR 97212-4705
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range: $80 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the image of the White House and opulently furnished by Chef/Owner/Collector, Lanning Blanks. Every room is uniquely different and beautifully appointed. Come enjoy our fresh baked cookies... Chocolates and full amazing breakfast! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Portland`s White House Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing