We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“sublime experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Portland's White House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Portland's White House
Ranked #1 of 38 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“sublime experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

This B&B is quite lovely. it is in excellent shape, has charming decor, and a killer breakfast. It is fun staying in a place with such interesting history. There are tons of beautiful antiques, porcelain, and lovely landscaping. The hosts are super friendly and helpful. If you want to stay there, you need plan very very early. The single negative is its price: it is expensive -- we paid the same rate at the WH on a thursday nite as we did for a high end hotel room in downtown Portland on saturday nite. Overall though, it was a divine experience and I definitely will be going back.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank OaktownChica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    47
    17
    6
    3
See reviews for
51
267
23
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

We rented a well-provisioned Westfalia through this B&B for a two-week road trip, so our first and last nights were spent in the luxurious beds with a splendid breakfast. The hosts and staff are pleasant and accommodating. Be sure to check out Lanning's collections of china, porcelain and art, all displayed throughout the house.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trails2gether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

We had our family stay here and take the whole place over. Their breakfast was fabulous, and then Lanning, the proprietor hosted our wedding rehearsal dinner, and all I can say is it was fantastic. Not just the food, but the presentation, and service. The staff and Lanning made it perfect. Our families loved staying there. I highly recommend this venue.

Room Tip: You won't have a bad one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

Last weekend we hosted two wedding events at Portland's White House.  

We not only took over all of the rooms in the White House, but we also held a special dinner for out-of-towners as well as a Sunday brunch.  Our guests raved about the beautiful rooms, their fabulous nights' sleep, and the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff.  The White House is gorgeous inside and out with lovely yet warm and welcoming furnishings. 

The food Lanning prepared for our Friday night special dinner and Sunday brunch was out of this world.  Everything was homemade, local, elegant, bountiful, and delicious. We had one guest with very severe dietary restrictions and Lanning went to the trouble of making her special meals for both of those occasions plus her daily breakfasts.

Lanning and his staff were so patient with us as we planned our special celebration and we were grateful for his creative suggestions and ideas.  They made our weekend easy, fun, and memorable.  In the past I've also held Corporate meetings at Portland's White House and Lanning is always a joy to work with.

I can't say enough about how extraordinary our experience was with Portland's White House.  If you have an important event, I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night on a Pacific Northwest trip. It's located in a pretty, tree-lined residential area a few minutes from downtown Portland. The house is beautiful and our room (the Baron's room) was extremely clean and comfortable. Loved the poufy king bed! Numerous options for what time you can eat breakfast in the morning, which is helpful when you've got a lot of sightseeing planned and need to get out the door. The breakfast was fantastic- a big bowl of fresh berries and figs, great coffee, homemade muffins, and some amazing eggs benedict with arugula, prosciutto, etc. Little things like having cookies and chocolates waiting in the room when we checked in and having nice music playing on the CD player were appreciated and felt welcoming. The innkeeper was unpretentious and friendly. Would certainly return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

You won't be disappointed with the rooms at the White House and you'll be blown away with the folks there. Lanning was kind, courteous and hilarious. He made sure we felt at home the second we walked in the door and breakfast was amazing! We're definitely recommending it to our out of town guests as we just relocated to Portland permanently.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

It's the White House...in Portland! What else needs to be said??

If that's not enough then go for the wonderful service, the spotless rooms, the delicious breakfast, and free daily cookies.

My wife and I stayed two nights in the balcony room overlooking the front yard of the White House. Each day our room was spotless and housekeeping left us freshly made cookies.

One morning breakfast was a large bowl of blueberries, raspberries, and blackberries followed by perfectly prepared eggs Benedict. The next morning it was some mean chicken and waffles again with a pile of fresh fruit.

The staff was friendly, the owner was super cool and helped us print out our boarding passes, and the other guests were a delight to speak to each morning.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#6 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,493 reviews
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#5 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Modera
Hotel Modera
#26 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Hotel Eastlund
#10 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland's White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland's White House

Property: Portland's White House
Address: 1914 NE 22nd, Portland, OR 97212
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the image of the White House and opulently furnished by Chef/Owner/Collector, Lanning Blanks. Every room is uniquely different and beautifully appointed. Come enjoy our fresh baked cookies... Chocolates and full amazing breakfast! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Portland`s White House Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing