We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great event”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Portland's White House
Ranked #2 of 35 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Great event”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We hosted our company holiday party here last week and several of us stayed overnight, including me and my wife. Food at dinner and at breakfast the next morning was fresh and delicious, and the hosts and staff were incredibly gracious, even giving us a lift to Union Station to catch our train. The house itself is a masterpiece of Victorian architecture and decoration, and rooms and beds were comfortable. We hope to be back again next year!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caton F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    47
    17
    6
    3
See reviews for
53
274
24
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

The experience from the call to book the reservation to the early morning departure was wonderful. If you need to access the airport, Portland's White House is an ideal location. The house and the guest rooms are tastefully decorated and quite comfortable. The house has been maintained in its original design with an elegant romantic aura. The staff was extremely helpful, there when needed but not hovering over you.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachaelsdowrybmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We recently held a dinner here and could not have been more pleased. The staff was eager to put together a dining experience to accommodate a historically themed event, and did so amazingly. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

as many other reviewers have mentioned this is a great historic house converted to B&B - the reception area, dining room and living room are exquisite. Our bedroom was gorgeous with a large garden balcony - the other unoccupied rooms looked great too! There is a ball room in the basement that would make this a wonderful site for an extended evening party if you could rent out all 6 rooms of the house (there are 3 more rooms in the adjoining chauffeurs cottage as well). The group I was with had dinner as well as breakfast and both meals were fabulous - consider making special arrangements with this very accommodating inn.

Room Tip: the garden room is not listed on their website - it is usually reserved for longer stays - it is the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank countess11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
236 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I shall not go into great detail as it has all been covered before. Just to say this is the B&B you are hoping for. Tastefully decorated with both genuine antiques and reproductions, a choice of period tubs or modern tubs or showers, not a scrap of plastic in sight, immaculately clean, in a quiet and charming neighborhood with eateries and shops in easy walking distance. Valet parking when an event is in process (though street parking is safe and plentiful). The food is fresh and excellent (we had an event there and I can vouch for the cooking). And excellent value for the money and all of the comforts and charm you are hoping for.

Room Tip: The rooms fronting the street have a tiny amount of traffic noise all masked by the fountain, I am a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CelineSoCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We took Amtrak from Vancouver BC to Portland for a long weekend and the White House was our destination of choice but only available one night. It was worth it. Once a lumber baron’s summer home, it’s style and period furnishings are exceptional. If you like Downton Abbey, you’ll love this. The best B&B’s are not just for the moment, but also for the memory. The White House Canopy Room will be remembered for many, many years. Myra, our gracious Innkeeper, deserves special mention for service above and beyond.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHawk66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
212 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Go back in time while staying at this bed and breakfast. This is a unique property, well maintained, filled with lots of wonderful antiques and period pieces. The house is in a nice neighborhood minutes from downtown and surprisingly close to the airport. The dining area is wonderful, a perfect place to start the day. This is a don't miss while in Portland.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice. I prefer those in front. The middle front room has a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WyoBruin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 141 in Portland
1,689 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Inn at Northrup Station
#7 of 141 in Portland
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 141 in Portland
2,780 reviews
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#10 of 141 in Portland
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland's White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland's White House

Property: Portland's White House
Address: 1914 NE 22nd Ave, Portland, OR 97212-4705
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the image of the White House and opulently furnished by Chef/Owner/Collector, Lanning Blanks. Every room is uniquely different and beautifully appointed. Come enjoy our fresh baked cookies... Chocolates and full amazing breakfast! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Portland`s White House Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing