We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not What I Had Hoped”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Portland's White House
Ranked #2 of 36 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wheaton, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Not What I Had Hoped”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary with a 3 night stay at Portland's White House. We don't always stay at B&B's when traveling, but I do tend to find them a little more intimate and romantic in the right setting. We didn't need to stay right in the midst of downtown Portland, so I was happy to find this B&B as an option for this trip. The neighborhood was pretty and quiet with plenty of shops, restaurants, bars, and cafes within a short walk. As others mentioned, it's very easy to get to downtown Portland, as well as out to the Columbia River Gorge (30 minute drive) for some hiking and beautiful scenery. It was our first visit to Portland, and when I asked the young lady upon check-in if she had any advice or recommendations for our day at the gorge, I was really surprised that she had nothing. Nothing printed out available to give to anyone who asks, nor any advice or opinions herself. She said we could use the included Internet to look ourselves. I didn't think she was being rude, but that in training for her job she should be asked to be well informed about the area and any of the places guests might want to visit. The owner was there briefly when we arrived but immediately announced that he hadn't been home in several days and was really anxious to spend the next couple of days there, so.....see ya. We ended up seeking lattes the next morning before breakfast was offered (never were we offered espresso or lattes as mentioned on their website, it was only coffee or tea, which was a bit disappointing since I thought I'd be able to get a latte each morning). We walked to a local coffee/espresso/doughnut shop and the young man there gave us some great information about spending our day at the gorge, even recommending a good lunch spot. The breakfast served each morning was fine and filling. We appreciated receiving fruit with breakfast. We stayed in the Canopy Room which was quiet and comfortable. It was mostly clean, and storage was ample so it was easy to unpack and feel comfortable. We rarely had an issue parking on the street around the property. We did pull up one day too late to help an older man struggling to get his luggage into his car. I felt the owner and staff a bit indifferent to their guests. It wasn't what I expected from such a lovely B&B. There is no wine hour or honor bar or any personal service at all - at least during our stay. We paid for an adequate room in a lovely old home, but next time I'll probably just stay at a Kimpton where at least someone will be available to recommend a place for dinner or ask us if we've enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetotravelChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portlandswhitehouse, General Manager at Portland's White House, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your concerns for Portland's White House Inn.
Did you ask the staff to make you a latte? We do have the espresso machine and make latte's for our guests all the time. It isn't something we typically ask each guest and just do it upon request. However, after this review it should be something we let our guests know about as an option in the mornings. We also implemented putting two bottles of Hahn wine in the rooms on the honor system. Your review is important and I hope we can welcome you back soon to show you our changes. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    47
    17
    6
    3
See reviews for
53
273
24
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deerfield, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This was our first B&B experience, and it just might have spoiled us for anyplace else. Room was lovely. Fabulous décor. Breakfast was sumptuous. Everyone was exceptionally friendly and accommodating. Yes, there were a few things that could be improved, like bathroom lighting. (I was told that it was too dim for applying makeup.)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portlandswhitehouse, General Manager at Portland's White House, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review for Portland's White House Inn! And especially letting us know about the bathroom lighting... It's always wonderful to hear what would make the room even better! Best wishes and we hope you come visit us again... I'll save a cookie for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101 Avenida Del Mar
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This place did nearly everthing wrong....and, lied about it. The breakfast was inedible, the coffee nonexistent, and there was an extra folded up bed blocking the pathway to my door. Loud. Dirty. Very very disappointing.

Room Tip: Choose a room ELSEWHERE, is the best advice I can give.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank californiacove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portlandswhitehouse, General Manager at Portland's White House, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
We strive for excellence in service, ambiance and breakfast here at Portland's White House Inn.
We hope for a second chance - please contact us so that we can make it right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boxford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
177 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We had great and friendly service, a delicious breakfast, a comfortable and clean room, air conditionning when the temperature was 97, beautiful things to look at and a comfy bathrobe. Can't ask for more than that. We will be back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbWas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portlandswhitehouse, General Manager at Portland's White House, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to recommend Portland's White House Inn on Trip Advisor! It is always a treat for us to know that your stay was everything you had hoped for and we look forward to welcoming you back! Best wishes from all of us here at Portland's White House Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Based on our previous two visits, we were really looking forward to returning to the White House. But something's gone oddly wrong there. The sign on the front doorbell said "out of order. Call us on the phone." Our welcome was hurried and indifferent. When we were shown to our room via the back patio, it was obvious it hadn't been swept in a week. It remained in that condition throughout our stay. On an overcast Portland day of about 65 degrees, the room was air-conditioned down to a bone-chilling temperature in the low 50's. When I asked the Innkeeper where the thermostat was located, she said the temperature could not be controlled from the room as the system had a single control for the whole building. Her helpful suggestion? "Open the windows." We had no choice but to do so as the room was unusable at that temperature, but opening the window brought in every word of a lively conversation taking place in the kitchen across the small courtyard. The towels in the bathroom had the White House logo woven into them, an elegant and upscale little touch completely neutralized by the stern warning sign saying "Don't use logo towels to remove makeup!" Finally, there are occasions where I might be interested in a black-bean quiche, but none of them would be as the featured offering at breakfast. Discovering that, I was able to get bacon an eggs on special request, although mysteriously unaccompanied by toast. Somebody has just lost the focus here, and it's a shame.

Room Tip: If that sign is still on the broken doorbell when you get there, it's telling you everything you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rogets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portlandswhitehouse, General Manager at Portland's White House, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your findings! We have been blessed with a full house all summer (after three years of slow times) and after reading your review we took immediate action. Most of our rooms all have independent temperature controls, however, the Carriage house is on a central/air system. We immediately went and got oil heaters for the rooms to add just enough comfort in the event the a/c was to cold. We also now have more maintenance outside to keep the courtyards clean. The Doorbell... well that has been a major thorn in our side. Something one would think is easy to order and install, however, it's still on order and we are still waiting. We hope you will come see us again here and be sure to let us know prior to your visit of specials you would like to have for breakfast! We strive to provide the BEST breakfast and accommodations! Please let us make it up to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine, MN
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Our stay at the White House was the highlight of our west coast road trip from Seattle to San Fran. The owner, Lanning Blanks gets it. He has the 'gift of hospitality' and is a wonderful host. He is fun and makes sure you are comfortable and having a good time. Teresa the innkeeper is kind, attentive, and makes you feel like family.

The house is grand, beautifully restored and furnished with a magnificent collection of antiques. It was formerly a summer home of a lumber baron and has seen so much history during the last 100 plus years. Lanning did an amazing job restoring the place. It is like stepping back in time, a cross between a museum and an elegant mansion. However, the atmosphere is fun and not "stuffy". It is an easy walk to some good restaurants and bars or a few miles into downtown. We hated to leave our room to go exploring, because the king size bed was so comfortable. We had two great nights of sleep... and that is not always easy on a trip.

The breakfasts were unique and delicious, and they sent us on our adventures with leftover scones and muffins and fruit. One last thing... when we came back to our room tired late in the evening, we were surprised to find a bottle of champagne on ice and a note congratulating us on our anniversary. This thoughtful gesture was appreciated and made our stay perfect!.

This place doesn't miss a thing... Lanning, Teresa and the entire staff know how to create memories and how to go the extra mile. The reason I gave Portland's White House 5 stars is because I couldn't give it 6 or more!!!





When we came back to our room tired late in the evening, the Inn Keeper, Teresa Ricks, and the owner, Lanning Blanks, surprised us with a bottle of champagne on ice and a note congratulating us on our anniversary. This thoughtful gesture was appreciated and reminded why we came back. This place knows how to create memories and how to go the extra mile.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigdaddy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We arrived earlier than we anticipated and they promptly completed cleaning the room and allowed us to check in early.
We stayed in the carriage house in the Blarney room. They had warned us that it is the smallest room so I was relieved that there was enough space to accommodate our two 26” suitcases, two 22” carry-on, and two large backpacks without impeding our ability to move about the room and use the furniture. The bed was very comfortable, and a stereo was available as well as a flat screen TV. The chocolates and cookies in the room were fantastic. The Wi-Fi always worked. The location was quiet and we both slept soundly.

Breakfast was served on time (preselected) in a casual atmosphere (one guest was in a robe and the server was wearing shorts) and was good.
We had no problem parking to unload/load or parking on the street in front.

Tips for active people: We dropped off the rental car downtown and it was an easy walk of about 1.8 miles back to the B&B. Restaurants are 2 blocks away. We did not rent bikes overnight but biking to & from downtown would be very easy. We also had an easy 1 mile walk to pick up another rental car @ the Crown Plaza when we left.

Room Tip: Blarney room – The bathroom fan comes on with the lights and is very noisy. Otherwise, the bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Inn at Northrup Station
#5 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
Hotel Eastlund
#11 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland's White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland's White House

Property: Portland's White House
Address: 1914 NE 22nd Ave, Portland, OR 97212-4705
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the image of the White House and opulently furnished by Chef/Owner/Collector, Lanning Blanks. Every room is uniquely different and beautifully appointed. Come enjoy our fresh baked cookies... Chocolates and full amazing breakfast! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Portland`s White House Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing