We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best !”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Portland's White House
Ranked #2 of 35 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Central Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply the best !”
Reviewed March 31, 2008

It was my lucky day when I found the White House ... and staying there was one of the most enjoyable times I've ever had. If you ever get the chance to visit Portland... you must give them a call and stay, you will not be disappointed.

The White House is beautiful not only as a home, but it was the people there that made it memorable. Lanning was so welcoming and talking to him made you feel like you were family within moments. My daughter and I felt like pampered guests as he gave us a tour and let us know about the breakfast planned for the morning. Even now I have to smile remembering his laugh and the way he makes everyone feel special.

Meeting Steve and Justin also made our stay complete as they all took such good care of us during our Spring Break getaway … Now that we are back home we keep wishing we were back there to enjoy one of Lanning’s yummy breakfasts or the surprise of warm cookies waiting when we came back ‘home’ from a hard day of shopping.

For me, the memories we made at the White House are very special, and we will return again soon!

  • Liked — Beautiful home - great breakfast - warm cookies - Great Host
  • Disliked — not a thing!
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank travel_4_fun23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    47
    17
    6
    3
See reviews for
53
274
24
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bend, OR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2008

Portland's White House is a joy to stay at. Lanning, Steve, Justin and the whole crew are the nicest people you could possibly meet. The rooms are beautiful and filled with precious antiques and treasures that make you feel like you are royalty. The bed was very comfortable and and the claw foot tub was the best! Lanning was so nice. He accommodated to my food needs (since I'm vegan) and he served the most delicious breakfasts I have ever had. When I arrived back home after my trip to Portland I find myself missing talking to Lanning since he was such a nice guy, and I also miss the beautiful house that makes you feel so comfortable and relaxed. I highly recommend staying at Portland's White House because if you don't, you'll really be missing out on an amazing experience and meeting really nice people!

  • Liked — The nice people and the beautiful house!
  • Disliked — nothing... Everything was amazing!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TickledPink025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2008

My husband and I stayed in the Balcony Room for three nights this past weekend. The cost was comparable to an impersonal hotel downtown, and I figured it would be nice to chat to the hotel owners and other guests about the city because we've never spent much time here before.

It was a perfectly acceptable place to stay-- not terrible, not brilliant. Like ninety-nine percent of all bed-and-breakfasts the decor wasn't my taste but the room was very clean and well-stocked with towels, soaps, and other hotel necessities. The iPod dock and WiFi were nice touches.

The owner, Lanning, doesn't seem to like his job very much-- or maybe he was just having a string of several bad days? Every time we saw him he was kvetching about something-- other guests, mostly. I run my own business too, and would never utter a bad word about clients in front of my other clients. It's unprofessional and-- speaking as a hotel guest-- it's not a very comfortable way to spend what should be a relaxing vacation. Fortunately, my husband and I are bed-and-breakfast veterans and are able to let a host's crankiness recede into the background at the breakfast table.

Speaking of breakfasts, the ones we had here weren't as healthful as I would like, but that's common at most American bed-and-breakfast hotels. We didn't realize how much the early breakfast hours would bug us when we booked our reservation; I really don't like waking up at 8:00 a.m. when I'm on holiday.

Overall, we've stayed at better bed-and-breakfasts, and we've stayed at worse. Portland's White House fell right in the middle. We will likely stay somewhere else on our next visit to Portland.

  • Liked — Location; iPod dock in room
  • Disliked — Thin walls and floors; Cranky host; Early-morning breakfasts
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank tenspeedsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2008

A lovely bed and breakfast. We stayed at the White House for our anniversary in October. The facility was beautiful and the room was spacious and well appointed. The decor throughout the bed and breakfast was lovely.

The breakfast was the only disappointment about our stay. The meals were on the sugary side and were not very good. If you are a non-meat eater, you may want to notify the b & b in advance as every morning contained some type of meat dish.

If you are amenable to public transit, versus driving, the light rail is about a fifteen minute walk from the b & b. We used light rail the entire time and were very happy with its ease and safety. We also took it from and to the airport.

  • Liked — The architecture
  • Disliked — The food
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TavisSacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2008

Was looking for a special place to stay in Portland and a friend suggested checking out the White House. SO glad I chose this location. This bed and breakfast is beautiful inside and out, very elegant and well maintained. We stayed in the canopy room, which had the most comfortable bed I think I have ever slept in, and a jacuzzi tub big enough for two in the bathroom. The host, Lannie, was wonderfully personable. He and his staff had gourmet breakfasts for us each morning, recommended sights to see and places to visit, as well as the best restaurants for dinner. And every night, after coming back from our day trips, there were homemade cookies and chocolates and a bucket of iced champaigne waiting for us in our room. Can't say enough about what a wonderul experience we had there. Thankyou!

  • Liked — beautiful, comfortable, hosts spoiled us
  • Disliked — nothing negative to say
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dove007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Wa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2008

My wife, Judy, and I stayed in Seattle and Portland recently, and had a great trip. After leaving Seattle, we continued to Portland, where we stayed at the White House. Our room was the Baron, with a large bathroom, and the most comfortable King bed I have ever slept in. We stayed 3 nights, and the hardest thing to give up was the feather bed. All hypo-allergenic, it was so luxurious that we slept through breakfast on one of the mornings. And the breakfasts are not the kind you want to miss! Lanning and his staff are so welcoming and friendly, that we felt at home immediately. The location was close to downtown, and to the antique stores that we spent too much time in. We will return!

  • Liked — Room, staff
  • Disliked — 4 am noise from paperboy
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Judithena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2008

Beautiful home in a lovely neighborhood in Portland Oregon. Parking was not a problem and there was easy access to public transportation as well. Breakfast was outstanding and our hosts were friendly and very accomodating. Our room furnished in lovely period antiques, the bed was comfortable, and the six head shower was a pleasure to step into. And the cookies left in our room were fantastic!

We'll be back again soon.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
4 Thank rebnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 141 in Portland
1,688 reviews
Inn at Northrup Station
#6 of 141 in Portland
1,027 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 141 in Portland
2,775 reviews
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#8 of 141 in Portland
1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland's White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland's White House

Property: Portland's White House
Address: 1914 NE 22nd Ave, Portland, OR 97212-4705
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the image of the White House and opulently furnished by Chef/Owner/Collector, Lanning Blanks. Every room is uniquely different and beautifully appointed. Come enjoy our fresh baked cookies... Chocolates and full amazing breakfast! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Portland`s White House Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing