We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great”
Review of Cupcake Jones

Cupcake Jones
Ranked #16 of 69 Bakeries in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Neighborhood: Pearl
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Pearl
Auburn, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Had to try it since it was my somes birthday and i figiured that was a great little treat.Great customer service,friendly and helpfull with qusetions.The cupcakes were good but there was just to much cake with big ones,slightly dry.The mini ones were perfect.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frank n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    32
    11
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cody, Wyoming
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“delicious”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

my friend told me about this place, and during my last trip to portland I knew i had to make a stop! I got a 6 pack of mini cupcakes that were so cute to look at. I got an assortment of flavors, some chocolate, one lavender, red velvet. all delicious! definitely going back!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TombRaider25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Barriles, Baja California Sur, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just a cupcake”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

After alot of reserching the compatition I decided to come here. Sadly the price was a big shock for me and out of the Red Velvet and the Pearl Cupcakes I got I can not rember anything too exciting. I would give this place another try but I will not be getting the larger cupcakes.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice Afternoon Treat”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I ran into this store as I was wondering around The Pearl. I actually walked by it a couple of times before it influenced me to stop and check out the display. The selection was nice when you consider it is all about the cupcakes. There were probably 12 choices on a Saturday afternoon.

The staff was busily at work, but made sure I felt welcome. They spent time explaining the cupcakes and providing recommendations.

The red velvet was a must as it is my favorite. The cupcake was good overall. The cake was not too sweet (red velvet shouldn't be) and the cream cheese frosting complemented it well. The larger cupcakes all have filling and this one had a vanilla bean center. It did not add to the cupcake, but didn't detract either.

I took a second for a later treat. It was a chocolate chip cookie cupcake. I felt more of a mixed reaction. The staff did point out it was more unique/different. This was true. But the flavor was a bit more muddled due to the sweetness level being quite high. The center was chocolate chip cookie dough-ish and amped up the sweetness level. They had steered me clear of the peanut butter cup flavor because it was a bit "rich". Cannot imagine it being much sweeter than this one.

Overall, an enjoyable experience and nice find for just wandering around Portland. Staff was great.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank charlierdu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Boutique cupcake a win”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

I don't have much to compare with high end cupcakes. I know cupcakes are the craze these days. (I had two cupcakes, not in one sitting). The chocolate chip and peanut butter cupcakes were well balanced with sweetness and frosting. You can appreciate the flavor without the over powering sugar taste. I particularly like them because they are "filled."
We went here after eating pizza in old town, pretty good combination.

Helpful?
Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cupcake Jones also viewed

 

Been to Cupcake Jones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing