We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing pizza!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ken's Artisan Pizza

Ken's Artisan Pizza
Ranked #104 of 4,236 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing pizza!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We were a party of 5 adults and 1 child. The pizza was fantastic! We ordered the New Yorker, Margherita with arugula and the Sausage and onion pizzas. Also, 2 appetizers including the calamari and the trio of roasted veggies! It was plenty of food for us! We took 3 slices of leftovers home! My favorite was the Margherita with arugula! This was my second visit to Ken's and is something I look forward to while visiting Portland!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roxanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    56
    22
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
582 reviews
275 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Outstanding pizza!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

I think the pizza here was about the best we have ever had and we have tried a lot of pizza. I think it has ruined us for other restaurants and unfortunately (maybe fortunately) we live nowhere close to this pizza place. We arrived about 5:30 and got one of the last tables. By the time we left there was quite a line for a table. I wish they would open another Ken's in Austin!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank dil345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“O.M.G.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Fantastic pizza! Just had the Margherita (it's the easiest way for me to compare among pizzerias) and it was fantastic. Very tasty thin crust, well done, but not too chewy. Also had the blackberry crumble desert, which was amazing. The blackberry taste was tart and fresh, and the lemon verbena whipped cream (who thinks of these combinations?!) was amazing!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mvorvoreanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
194 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“One of the best pizza's I've ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

So sometimes when you try something - you get it.... I had never had thin crust pizza with special meats cheeses and bread that I cared about before. I came to this place with my reservations, but this place was the ish. I thought it was great. I get it now, Must eat there, must eat hot, must eat!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Coug8491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
122 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Add me to the list.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Let me just add myself to the list of reviewers raving about this place. Yes, it is as good as everyone says.
We had a 1-hour wait for a table on a Saturday night but instead of just hanging around, we walked up the block and strolled through Laurelhurst Park. When we got back, our table was ready and we had worked up an appetite. We were seated outside on a warm, well, Portland-warm evening, next to the interior that opened fully to the outside, allowing a little heat to escape, keeping us both comfortable.
My fellow diners ordered the calamari to start with and said it was the best they'd eaten. Tenderly cooked and covered with a tomato-based sauce flavored with something that tasted slightly floral, a hint of lavendar maybe?
I started with the generous Caesar Salad with a nice, light lemony dressing, but sadly no sign of anchovy that I love.
I had the Margharita Pizza because I think its simple flavors really compliment a fantastic crust. Perfectly proportioned, sauce to cheese, and whole leaves of fresh basil. It did not dissapoint and will go down as one of my favorite pizzas outside of Napoli.

Service was excellent and we saw a few different servers attending our needs for the evening leading me to think they care more about their customers than who gets what tip. I like that.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CouleeCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ken's Artisan Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Ken's Artisan Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing