We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paella, Paella, Paella”
Review of Toro Bravo

Toro Bravo
Ranked #25 of 4,276 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Paella, Paella, Paella”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

This is my third trip and everytime the Paella, tried some other small plates too but this is my go to dish. Service seems a bit rushed at times but it is also a busy place, one of Portland's best restaurants for sure.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheresaR13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    115
    29
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Oregon
Level Contributor
242 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Popular tapas place”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We went for anniversary dinner on a week night. Only a 10 minute wait, which is good because they don't take reservations. Very cold night, and where we sat we could feel the drafts. Very good meal, the chef likes bacon (not a bad thing), and it was featured in many dishes. Not as good as the best of Barcelona, but better than the usual food there. We will be going back..

Also, they seem to get a later crowd (Spanish hours?) than most Portland restaurants.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steve-h132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
282 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Fantastic, Flavorfull, and Fun”
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

We were with a group of 8, we only waited for about 20 minutes before we could sit down. The ambience is fun although loud. Because of our large group we had the opportunity to try lots of dishes, EVERYTHING was FANTASTIC!! Thhe flavours were amazing, there wasn't one thing that I wouldn't orde again. Next time we are in Portland we will go out of our way to make it back...sooooo yummy!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bendreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“If only we had nothing to compare it to!”
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I have been travelling the west coast eating at every tapas place we can find.

Trip advisor rated Toro Bravo well, so we went on a Friday night.

It opened at 5, with no reservations. We got there at 530 and had to wait about an hour.

We had a few cocktails which were nice. The apricot one was our favourite. Later in the night we had the cream sherry which was realllly nice!

We ordered
Bacon wrapped dates which were unreal!!!! Nice and smokey!

The sauteed spinach was nice... But we'd had way better a few nights ago somewhere else!

The chilli prawns were delish!

The pork roulades marmalade and toast was ok. We loved the marmalade but not the mustard garnish or the toast.

The duck with poached pear was my favourite!! Nice and sweet!

And the squash dumblings with lamb was my boyfriends favourite!! Sooooo good!!!

Dessert was almond icecream with a shot of espresso- the icecream had no flavour. And the baked apple and pear pie- which was good, but nothing amazing.

Like I said, if only we didnt have other tapas restaurants to compare it to!! But it was really yummy!

Helpful?
1 Thank Le_wolfinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent food and atmosphere”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We were in line before it opened - it was totally worth the wait in line. They have creative cocktails and the smoked nuts they bring while you order are nice. We orders a variety of small plates to share - the Squash Dumplings with eight pepper braised lamb and the Grilled Flat Bread with black truffle cheese & arugula were 2 of our favourites. The service was awesome and the atmosphere was fun.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toro Bravo also viewed

 

Been to Toro Bravo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing