We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“As close to the Spanish real deal you could possibly find in the northwest.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Toro Bravo

Toro Bravo
Ranked #27 of 4,061 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Spanish, Gluten Free
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“As close to the Spanish real deal you could possibly find in the northwest.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Having just returned from an amazing trip in Spain, this food was hands down the best I've had in the area. It is a little more expensive than the average Portland restaurant, but well worth it.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Angiebownagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    99
    24
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
644 reviews
425 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“El Toro Bravo is Magnifico!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Tapas in Portland Oregon - sure why not. Excellent food and great service combine for a fantastico dinner experience. Not surprisingly this place gets busy so make a reservation or go early. Don't expect to run in and out of this place - take your time and enjoy! Fortunately, for non-meat eaters there are plenty of acceptable choices. If you have any special requests, just tell your waitperson - they were surprisingly accommodating. When we asked to have the hazel nuts on the side and substitute a sauce it was all smiles and "no problemo" - ok truth - nobody spoke any Spanish and the background music was all Motown (no kidding).

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank yellowpixels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Every Bite - bites back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Great location to take some friends on a food tour... Served tapas style the portions are small - and excellent. The most fun I have had there is with several people who all order a collection of items and we pass things around. There are full dishes too - all good!
This is a location that is very often over crowded - so even on an off night - plan for a wait - or be flexible. Upstairs in the same building is a cute little 'old-school' bar: The Secret Society. The building has a ton of history - read about it on the stairway up to the bar. (not sure if there is handicap access upstairs). If you show your library card during happy hour - you get special prices - at least the last time I was there.
Location is north Portland in a working class neighborhood - so there is only street parking.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank flyby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
178 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Tasty Tapas, but Would be Better with Faster Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We enjoyed choosing tapas from the variety of options on the menu and the waitress was hepful in the choices. Food was good with some nice complex flavors (we've had tapas in Spain and these were reasonable in comparison) and there were some fun drinks on the menu.

The only problem was the service was kind of slow. They only brought one tapa at a time so you couldn't mix flavors and had to wait in between dishes. I understand that the European way is not to rush the meal, but it does not mean one tapa at a time.

Would have given four stars if the service was a bit faster.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelTalk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Can't rate thus high enough!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

I had an absolutely amazing first time experience at Toro Bravo. I had heard so many good things about it, and all of them were true. Great prices, food, service, and killer atmosphere. The wine list was also outstanding. I would go back there in a heartbeat. I highly recommend this place!

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pdxme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toro Bravo also viewed

 

Been to Toro Bravo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing