We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do This One”

Eco Tours of Oregon
Ranked #14 of 78 Food & Drink in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Fun, informative daily sightseeing day tours for individuals, couples, small & large groups, conventions, conferences and other groups. Columbia River Gorge Waterfalls / Mount Hood "Loop" Tour, Mount Saint Helens Volcano Tour, Northern Oregon Coast Sightseeing, Whale Watching with Central Coast Sightseeing, Winery Tours in the Oregon Countryside, Native American Cultural Tours, Portland's Microbrewery Tour.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Do This One”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Could not be happier. The tour's guide, Jeff, is fantastic. He's filled with knowledge and more than willing to share it. So, not only will you see so much wonderful scenery, but you will most certainly learn a great deal, as well. He is that good. At one point, he brought out an excellent telescope like device, set it up, and then suggested we all view some birds that none of us could see any other way. I wouldn't have known about them had it not been for Jeff. This is one example of his attention to detail. If you want to take a tour, but without the huge bus and crowds, do this one. I highly recommend it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    10
    2
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
376 reviews
120 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“Great way to see the Oregon Coast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Tried to get this tour about a month ago and finally got confirmation a week before my travels to Portland/Seattle. Glad we got to go on this tour, though, especially for the following reasons:

PROS:
Jeff is a very experienced, accomplished and knowledgeable guide
Professionalism (as opposed to another van tour which I will review under separate cover)
Lots of information, both verbal and visual (with laminated charts and papers)
All you want to know about trees, forestry and anything flora/fauna
Stops were replete with phenomenal views and leisurely hikes to the beach & through forests
Van was comfortable

CONS:
A little more camaraderie with your customers would be appreciated
Share your blueberries! (The quintessential guide would have placed a few berries in a plastic zip-lock bag for each of his customers and still leave plenty of berries for his own enjoyment). :)

Jeff, the cons are just tongue-in-cheek. You did a great job and we had a wonderful time.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank toadsoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent tour company and guide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Just returned from a tour to the Columbia River Gorge Waterfalls and Mount Hood with Jeff. It was excellent: informative and enjoyable from beginning to end! We've visited many remarkable spots, did not skip any stop listed in the program, and enjoyed learning more about the region (everything from volcanoes to farming to salmon fisheries). I commend Jeff for his knowledge, professionalism and courtesy.

I strongly recommend Eco Tours of Oregon for anyone who wants to visit these (and other) fantastic attractions around Portland.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank omarques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great tour led by a very knowledgeable guide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

We took a one-day van trip from Portland to see the Oregon coast. The guide (Jeff, I think) was not just incredibly knowledgeable about the sites we were passing but about the deeper environmental issues in the area. He had laminated charts and pictures to illustrate the information -- it was like a rolling seminar, without the exam and with a lot of humor. He also brought along high-end telescopic equipment that allowed us to zero in on birds nesting on the tops of far-off rocks in the ocean, something we would never have seen otherwise. We learned a lot, met some great folks, and would do another trip with him in a heartbeat.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ken693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great tour company”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

We took two tours with Jeff ... the Willamette wine tour and the Columbia Gorge/Waterfalls tour and they were both great. We learned a lot about the city and the area and Jeff took us to places we would probably not visit ourselves. Both tours made our trip memorable.

If you are looking for a tour and do not have your own transportation I would highly recommend this company.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz34675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eco Tours of Oregon also viewed

 

Been to Eco Tours of Oregon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing