We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One day quick trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Inn At The Meadows
Ranked #39 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Very clean and very friendly and helpful staff. This was our second time staying at this hotel but it is always a first choice when visiting the Portland area. Large rooms with flat screens. Great hot breakfast YUM!!! Will for sure come back for a third stay. They are always updating to make this the very best it can be.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennifero690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPortland, Front Office Manager at Best Western Inn At The Meadows, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Jennifero690,

We are glad to have you as our Returning Guest! And especially excited we are your First Choice for Portland Hotels! Thank you for Great comments!!! And are glad you enjoy our Hotel. See you soon. ^^

~Team Meadows

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,085)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,684 - 1,690 of 2,085 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2013

Good points re:this hotel- hot tub was big,clean; the beds were big,soft; breakfast room was roomy - a pretty good spread. Poor points: our room was next to the office-listened to ice machine all night.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank AllysonH998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPortland, Front Office Manager at Best Western Inn At The Meadows, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

I am so sorry about your room location AllysonH998. I know how hard it is when there is so much noise around you. I will see if there is any way to install some noise dampening items so it is not so loud. I hope we can get you into a quieter room next time you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We chose this hotel because of the low Roomsaver coupon rate and the free parking. Rooms are quite nice and the breakfast is more than adequate. Offers a spa though we never found the time. The hotel is about a half hour train ride from the city centre - the nearest stop is a five-minute walk away from the hotel. All in all we found this hotel to be good value for the money

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hasherdoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPortland, Front Office Manager at Best Western Inn At The Meadows, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Thanks hasherdoug for your kind words. I also think our location is one of our best amenities. We are close but not too close to downtown with easy access to public transportation and the highway. Hopefully next time you are in town you will be able to use the hot tub!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

What a great trip. Hotel was really clean, services was great. Rooms really clean and housekeeping did a great job of keeping it that way. Certainly recommend. Love the approach of no smoking and no pets. Staff super helpful and very polite.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank big5_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPortland, Front Office Manager at Best Western Inn At The Meadows, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Big5_13,

I am glad that everyone at the hotel did a great job for you during your stay. We value all the hard work everyone does here to help the guests have a great stay, from the front desk to the laundry staff. We hope to see you next time you are in our area.

Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The front desk people were really rude. The "general Manager' Steve [--] was completely rude and arrogant. My brother and him made an agreement to use my credit card b/c my brother's credit card wouldn't go through. Instead of holding the credit card number as a deposit for damages, he tried charging him $500 instead. I had requested for our rooms to be close together as we both have kids, ins
Instead of telling me where the rooms were located, Steve, quickly began to tell me that it was impossible b/c in order to have our rooms close he would have to knock and physically remove the current customers staying...I was confused because I didn't say for us to have our rooms together...I then explained that I never intended for him to do such a thing, he then proceeded to tell me that he ha
He then proceeded to tell me that he had no idea who I was and didn't care. I then asked him what floors are rooms were and how far apart. Turns out our room was only 8 rooms now, not far...not sure why he didn't tell me that in first place...Steve then proceeded to tell me that he wouldn't accept my card b/c of my attitude...I simply asked a simple question...He then blurted..."I'm the General
He then blurted..."I'm the General Manager! what i say goes"...in no way did I even ask to speak to someone hire, his arrogance continued, as he tried to threatened to call the cops on me b/c I was asking him question...My brother tried to reason with him by speaking calmly, to which I was as well...we had explained to just go ahead with the agreement because our kids were getting restless, he ju
He just went on this power trip and kept telling us to leave if we didn't have $500 cash...my husband came in after I had left, and tried to get a refund but had decided to go ahead and get the cash b/c Steve refused to refund his $$. Steve, went on telling my husband that he didn't know what happened, and that I was the one who started everything...my husband, said that I simply asked for the r
I simply asked for the rooms to be close together, and Steve said I was the one who went on a rant...He did not take accountability for his actions...when we were checking out, the other front desk person, was also rude and unpleasant...From all the hotels I've stayed in, including business trips...this is by far the worst experience I've had. T he Meadows location in Portland, is completely giving you guys a bad reputation...rude, arrogant front line staff.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WilT_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPortland, Front Office Manager at Best Western Inn At The Meadows, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Hello WilT_13,

I will be talking with my General Manager to see what happened. We always strive to provide the best customer service and am sorry that you had such a bad experience. Again I am so sorry and hope that you will give us another try. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Check in process was smooth. We had 4 gift cards of varying amounts and she didn't flinch and ran them all thru and then gave us a print out to show they have all been redeemed. The 2 nights ended up costing us less than $25 with the gift cards we had. And we were able to get directions to where we needed no issue.

There was ample parking. And it was just short walk to the MAX station which got us quickly into downtown and to the Rose Garden. And we did enjoy the hot tub 1 night.

The issues are that we when arrived there was a conversation going on at the front desk with 2 other employees that should have been not in a customer area. It was a bit loud and distracting and they were talking about other employees, in some detail. Painting was going on in the lobby when we arrived which was during a busy time right at check in time for most.

Also, breakfast was a bit of a disappointment. The breakfast room was completely packed at 8 am and the food supply was quite low. We grabbed a few things and then brought it back to the room. Then we went down at just before they closed and found some yogurt and a banana. Day 2 we didn't bother with breakfast, but when we checked out (after breakfast ended) the room was still pretty full.

Also, this hotel seems pretty dated in the hallways. The carpeting doesn't really match as you walk down the hall. The bedroom area looks like it was recently updated but the bathrooms were out of the 80's. Although the bathroom had been painted an orangish color, the paint had gotten on the outlets and elsewhere, so it wasn't done well.

It’s not in an area of Portland I normally stay, so I would really only stay here, if I needed to be in this specific area again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plaidbagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPortland, Front Office Manager at Best Western Inn At The Meadows, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Hello Plaidbagel,

I am glad that you enjoyed the hotel and the hot tub. That is great that the room cost you so little after using the gift cards. Gotta love a good deal. We are moving our breakfast into our meeting room as well as the normal room so there should be no more congestion issues.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

When we got to our room it smelled quite strongly of vinegar, espeacialy in the washroom. The overall room was great it had a nice TV and everyhing else you would expect from a Best Western.I have to say I was the least impressed with the washrooms. Unlike most Best Western's, there were no complimentry toiletries which was fine because in the shower there was a soap dispenser with shampoo ,conditioner and shower gel, However, when i went to have a shower that night there was no shampo and i was like if you don't want to have individual toiletries fine but at least refill for each guest, however, there was conditioner but the shower gel smelled like mens care and it stunk . breakfast had very litte selection and what was there wasn't anything to write home about. the pancake maker was empty when i tried to use it and when the lady refilled it the pancake tasted like rubber. The check in/out process was very quick, and for our one night stay it was OK.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FamilyR0adTrip5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPortland, Front Office Manager at Best Western Inn At The Meadows, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear FamilyR0adTrip5,

We are glad you enjoyed our Samsung TV! For the bathrooms, we apologize if there was no shampoo in the dispenser. We will notify all personal related to the situation. One of our methods we use to be eco-friendly is by using Shampoo Dispensers which we were told eliminates 1000s of plastic bottles in local landfills. The liquids we use have natural and organic ingredients and do not contain any synthetic fragrances. We are displeased to hear, that you did not enjoy our new Pancake machine. We have been getting great reviews about the machine but will definitely test out the pancakes after the inputting new batter. For everyone, we try our best to have a healthy, nice variety of food options in our Breakfast and are always looking into ways of improving. Next time when in Portland, OR we hope you give us another try and are glad the check in/out process was a smooth process.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
1.2 mi away
Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach
7.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Portland Airport
5.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Best Western Pony Soldier Inn - Airport
4.4 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Convention Center
1.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel on the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Inn At The Meadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Inn At The Meadows

Address: 1215 N Hayden Meadows Dr, Portland, OR 97217-7559
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Portland
#30 Business Hotel in Portland
#33 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#34 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $100 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Inn At The Meadows 2.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Inn at The Meadows is just a 10-15-minute drive from downtown Portland, and parking is free at the Hotel. It's also three blocks from a MAX Yellow Line light-rail - Delta Park stop, 8 miles from Portland International Airport, and steps from the Portland Expo Center and Portland International Raceway. A Hot Breakfast and Wifi are included with the rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Inn At The Meadows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Inn At The Meadows Hotel Portland
Best Western Portland
Portland Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing