We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value - Nice rooms and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Pony Soldier Inn - Airport
Ranked #19 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent Value - Nice rooms and friendly staff”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

- Clean, spacious well laid out rooms that are very comfortable.
- Friendly staff that are easy to talk to. Check in and out was a breeze and breakfast lady was helpful.
- Nice pool area
- Free Hot Breakfast that left me full and satisfied.

Room Tip: Get a single King bed - SUPER COMFY. Ask for a room on the ground floor poolside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    343
    84
    35
    14
See reviews for
336
353
88
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Live Oak, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

It was our anniversary my husband and I want to take a trip to Portland, I just picked one and made reservation online, I was not expecting in a such great location cause never been in Portland, We've been a few different BW before and this is the best one to stayed at, Beautiful setting in the lobby neat and clean, Hot food breakfast Nice view to the pool and clean dinning area with good foods, Room was clean, convenient location, Surrounding by shopping area, Restaurants, Public Transportation, Airport etc. I would definitely recommend to people who to stay in this BW Pony Soldier Inn-Airport hotel if you ever visit Portland, OR. We definitely want to stay in Pony Soldier Inn again if we go back to Portland in the future.

Room Tip: Pick the suites is the best room to stay. It is much bigger than a regular room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deby F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Live Oak, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We had a great times during our staying in the BW Pony Soldier Inn, It is locate in a great location for shopping and dinning areas plus very well public transportation system etc. We definitely would recommend people stay in this hotel when you visit Portland, Oregon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Deby F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suisun City, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed at the Pony Soldier Inn 5 years ago when visiting Portland for the first time. We found the inn clean and well-appointed then, as well as now. The staff is courteous to your needs. They have a gym, a laundry and a breakfast room. Breakfast consists of waffles, scrambled eggs, sausages, and a variety of cold breakfast items. This time we were traveling with our dog and dogs are accepted at the Pony Soldier which meant a lot to us. If you are in the Portland area, I would highly recommend the Pony Soldier for your stay. And, from the look of the filled parking lot, I can only assume the inn is a favorite of a lot of travelers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank lizbethgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, FL, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2013

The staff here goes above and beyond to make sure you have everything you need and that you have a wonderful time while you are in town. A wonderful breakfast each morning, caring staff - we returned on our way back through town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kareen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is one of the better Best Western's in which we have ever stayed. Well appointed room. Great looking lobby and grounds. Friendly efficient staff. Only downsides were the faint odor of the room's previous life as a smoking room and King Kong's heavy feet heard from the room up above. We would return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larkinjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I needed to find a convenient hotel for a Labor Day event in Portland and this hotel was the logical best choice! Our family had stayed there twice over the two past summers and enjoyed the convenient location and amenities this hotel has to offer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Wilson D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
1.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Portland Airport
6.3 mi away
Best Western Inn At The Meadows
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Portland Airport
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland Airport
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Pony Soldier Inn - Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Pony Soldier Inn - Airport

Property: Best Western Pony Soldier Inn - Airport
Address: 9901 Northeast Sandy Blvd., Portland, OR 97220-3323
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Portland
#6 Best Value Hotel in Portland
#16 Family Hotel in Portland
#19 Business Hotel in Portland
#20 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Pony Soldier Inn - Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Best Western® Pony Soldier Inn - Airport! Many guests at our Portland hotel are corporate travelers looking to take advantage of our great proximity to the airport, light rail and downtown. MAX, Portland's light rail system whisks guests directly into the heart of downtown. We’re close to major freeways and the airport, so catching early morning flights or day trips around the Great Northwest are both possible. We're known for our stellar customer service, and the outdoor seasonal pool and year-round hot tub are perfect for relaxing. However, make sure you start every morning right with a full, free hot breakfast featuring waffles, fruits, cereal and coffee. Our location, just two miles from the airport, makes us an easy choice for frequent flyers. Our Portland hotel is a short drive from the beautiful landscaping of The Grotto, and boating on the Columbia River is a real treat. Whether you’re in town for the legendary Rose Festival or touring the Columbia River Gorge, the location of our property makes it easy to get around the region. Mount Hood, the Oregon Coast and some of the best dining in the northwest is all a short drive away. Duck into Voodoo Doughnuts 24/7 for a sweet treat like no other, or visit the country's smallest park. The friendliness of our staff and cleanliness of the guest rooms make you feel right at home. We're located near I-205 and I-84 West and East for your convenience. Just across the river from Vancouver, Washington, the Portland Airport hotel is unlike any other in the country and nestled close to all the top attractions. Business travelers with Concordia University, Altec® Corporation, Grocery Outlet and Boeing and Honda Factories often stay at our Portland hotel. Visit the Rose Garden for incredible views or take in a Portland Trailblazer's game at the Moda center. The Pearl District is a must for nightlife, and NW 23rd is a requisite for shoppers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Pony Soldier Inn - Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pony Soldier Inn-Airport Hotel Portland
Best Western Portland
Portland Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing