We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Pony Soldier Inn - Airport
Ranked #18 of 146 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed here, based on a recommendation from my sister, and liked it so much that we made a return visit. She claimed that they gave her a better price than Orbitz, but I called them directly and they could not beat the Orbitz price. The room was excellent, the wi-fi worked great and the breakfast was totally satisfactory -- not excellent, but satisfactory.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,028 - 1,034 of 1,126 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

We came in at midnight and it was clear full, but they had saved our room because of our reservation. It was close to the airport, but driving from the car rental to the motel, it seemed like a rundown part of town. Police had someone in the parking lot next door when we came in. Breakfast was OK. Breakfast went until 10 and we ate at 9:30. The supply of food was low, we asked and the attendant was a little snippy, but said they were restocking. The tables in the eating area were not kept wiped clean.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank segmiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Our friends suggested this one so we phoned and got a room. It was pretty good and it was clean and roomy. The bed was good it was a King. The night clerk was friendly and we had a nice conversation. I would guess the price was competitive for the area around the Portland, OR airport. The taxes always add a few bucks to the price. $83 was the tab.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank james K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Stayed here twice in the last three weeks. The front desk is very helpful, especially Sarah. They considered and accomplished meeting a few requests we had. They were very helpful with directions to places we wanted to visit. The room was spacious and clean.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnG G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Close to the Airport with most of the time quick service by hotel Shuttle. Sometimes 20 min wait .
Westside is noisy because of highway 205 traffic all day and night.
Frontdesk helpfull and friendly. Rooms clean, somewhat overdated. Breakfest is ok, mediate.
Price/value rate :good
We stayed here over the last few years about 6 times for one or two nights:Waiting for our International flight. Also easy for short trip to Portland downtown by BART lightrail train , distance 3 min walk . Tickets on railwaystation.
Our big wish is AC 's with no noise! ( we think that's a quality problem ; Northern Europe countries have AC without noise)

Room Tip: If ou sleep light ask for insideroom because of traffic noise on Westside With warm weather all Ame...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank 407JanD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Gail N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We felt a very warm welcome by Stephanie and the hotel staff. Extremely helpful and provided excellent customer service. Elmers restaurant across the parking lot provided us with a fabulous meal, delcious and what a great value! The manager went above and beyond to ensure that we had a great meal and great customer service!

We will definitely stay here again and enjoy Elmer's restaurant!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
1.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Portland Airport
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Portland International Airport, OR
1.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Best Western Inn At The Meadows
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland East
Hampton Inn Portland East
#21 of 146 in Portland
536 reviews
1 mi away
Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Pony Soldier Inn - Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Pony Soldier Inn - Airport

Address: 9901 NE Sandy Blvd, Portland, OR 97220-3323
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Portland
#5 Best Value Hotel in Portland
#11 Family Hotel in Portland
#19 Business Hotel in Portland
#20 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $96 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Pony Soldier Inn - Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Best Western® Pony Soldier Inn - Airport! Many guests at our Portland hotel are corporate travelers looking to take advantage of our great proximity to the airport, light rail and downtown. MAX, Portland's light rail system whisks guests directly into the heart of downtown. We’re close to major freeways and the airport, so catching early morning flights or day trips around the Great Northwest are both possible. We're known for our stellar customer service, and the outdoor seasonal pool and year-round hot tub are perfect for relaxing. However, make sure you start every morning right with a full, free hot breakfast featuring waffles, fruits, cereal and coffee. Our location, just two miles from the airport, makes us an easy choice for frequent flyers. Our Portland hotel is a short drive from the beautiful landscaping of The Grotto, and boating on the Columbia River is a real treat. Whether you’re in town for the legendary Rose Festival or touring the Columbia River Gorge, the location of our property makes it easy to get around the region. Mount Hood, the Oregon Coast and some of the best dining in the northwest is all a short drive away. Duck into Voodoo Doughnuts 24/7 for a sweet treat like no other, or visit the country's smallest park. The friendliness of our staff and cleanliness of the guest rooms make you feel right at home. We're located near I-205 and I-84 West and East for your convenience. Just across the river from Vancouver, Washington, the Portland Airport hotel is unlike any other in the country and nestled close to all the top attractions. Business travelers with Concordia University, Altec® Corporation, Grocery Outlet and Boeing and Honda Factories often stay at our Portland hotel. Visit the Rose Garden for incredible views or take in a Portland Trailblazer's game at the Moda center. The Pearl District is a must for nightlife, and NW 23rd is a requisite for shoppers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Pony Soldier Inn - Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pony Soldier Inn-Airport Hotel Portland
Best Western Portland
Portland Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing