We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice motel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn - Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn - Airport
Ranked #21 of 137 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
314 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Nice motel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Nice motel close to I205 with easy access to the freeway. Checkin was quick and easy, very professional. Breakfast was ok, just normal to good for a continental motel breakfast. The room was clean and tidy. We did not notice any noise from the traffic as we had an inside/poolside room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gerleg12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    311
    73
    33
    14
See reviews for
299
323
80
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

I just wanted to stay here to be able to sleep an extra hour before flying out of PDX. It's very convenient and a short distance to the airport. And, of course, up to Best Western standards. The Elmer's next door is also very good.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

The place would have gotten top marks all around but for the old style tube TV and bed linens. Still, if they had those things, they probably would have charged me an extra 20 bucks for a night.

The breakfast was OK as a typical budget continental bfast, but they keep complimentary tea in the lobby for whenever you want it.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inando999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
280 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel for 4 nights during our visit to Portland. There is easy access from both I 205 and I 84. The room we had was a good size and the front desk staff were friendly and helpful. We expected some noise due to the location of the airport but weren't aware of the nearby train tracks until after we checked in. Luckily, the noise usually stops by 11pm and the evenings (at least at the back of the hotel) are surprisingly quiet. As with most BWs, breakfast is supplied but is set up in a rather cramped area. Also, there are only half a dozen tables for a hotel with over 200 rooms so it can be impossible to find a place to sit - it would be a good idea to go down either early in the morning or later after the rush. When it gets busy, they often have a hard time in keeping the food trays full. The hotel is a short walk from a transit station which is very handy for taking the tram - much easier in a lot of cases than driving in a strange city.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the road are probably quieter and give a view of the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aldergreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

While we live in the Portland metro area, we will stay here before or after early or late flights. They pick you up from the airport, let you park the car there, and rooms are clean and staff is attentive. We have had great experiences with them and have never been disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mbamom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Very fast and helpful courtesy transport, the receptionist helped organizing my excursion to the town - including preparing and printing maps - no chance to try the breakfast, as I leaved early - but again there were very nice fruit and coffee (and more) at a buffet. I never saw before such competent and friendly staff!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snowcursor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

I can't understand how this hotel gets decent reviews. We are Best Western loyalists and this is by far the worst one we have ever stayed in. We usually stay in dog friendly rooms and our room needed to be fumigated. There were stains all over the carpeting and the room smelled of wet dog. The rooms and hotel overall are very outdated as well. To top it all off, we went to the complimentary breakfast this morning and the hostess let nearly every station of the breakfast run out of food (including the coffee) - and she was rude as well - all at 8:00 a.m. this morning. The hotel also states that it is "in Portland." While it is technically in the city, you are about 20 mins from downtown. Given our experience, we won't be back.

Room Tip: Stay at other Best Westerns in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChitownRaRa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
1.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Portland Airport
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland Airport
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Portland International Airport
1.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn - Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn - Airport

Property: BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn - Airport
Address: 9901 Northeast Sandy Boulevard, Portland, OR 97220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Portland
#16 Family Hotel in Portland
#19 Business Hotel in Portland
#20 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn - Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn - Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pony Soldier Inn-Airport Hotel Portland
Best Western Portland
Portland Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing