We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely apartment close to everything”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Bedroom
View from outside on the path
View from patio
Back of house in Spring.
Patio
The path
Iris in Spring
Spring rhoadies
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Portland, Oregon

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Domoster
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment close to everything”
Reviewed September 29, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed in the apartment for the eclipse and was there for 2 weeks. The apartment is part of the main house but feels very secluded. The house is situated in a leafy part of Portland on a hill and there are some nice views from the garden. A short but bracing walk down the hill takes you to small shopping area, which has an excellent Co-op shop, a very good bakery/café, eateries and a pub. There is even a library. From the shopping area there are regular buses into Portland but you can walk it in under an hour.
The apartment has no A/C but being up a hill never seemed to get too warm, there always seemed to be a cooling breeze. The kitchen is small but has all you need if you want to eat in, even things like tea bags and cling film.
I really enjoyed my stay there and made all the nicer by Carol and Arnie who live in the big house and are excellent hosts.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2017
We really enjoyed getting to know you and following your eclipse journey. Thanks for sharing info for future guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay.”
Reviewed June 15, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The location is quiet and secluded. Easy to get into Portland by bus, or drive, with parking at the apartment. The facilities are all one wants, clean and modern. There is a great Co-op in walking distance, although a 2 minute drive saves the walk back up hill, where we bought fresh vegetables and supplies. A really lovely place.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xstch3
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation in Portland, OR area”
Reviewed July 20, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay in this wonderful 1 bedroom apartment. It was very clean, and beautifully and artistically appointed with everything you would need for a wonderful stay.The gardens all around the apartment are beautifully maintained and such a joy to see. The apartment is in the northwest part of the city, just west of Interstate 5 and close to great restaurants and stores, but in a beautiful area with beautiful homes and gardens, In a very quiet neighborhood. We visited the Japanese Gardens and the International test gardens for roses in the same area- Beautiful! We also had a wonderful lunch at Elephants Deli. That was quite an experience in wonderful tastes and wholesome food! We really enjoyed our stay in "The City of Roses"!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2017
Thank you for sharing your positive experiences for future guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathyW117
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Away from it all and close to it all”
Reviewed July 9, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was a perfect spot to relax after busy days with our local kids/grandkids, while also being close to everything we were visiting. The setting was lovely and peaceful, and the apartment was SO MUCH better than a hotel room!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location and surroundings
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romann6
Lake Forest, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed April 2, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This apartment has everything. (Including a newly remodeled bathroom). It's very quite great for sleeping in, and it's nice to wake up in the morning and look out the window and see the beautiful garden. Highly recommended. Hosts are very friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 3, 2016
Thanks for your kind comments; we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Please keep us in mind for your return visits to Portland. -Carol and Arnie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TVinLondo...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Oasis”
Reviewed March 2, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay. The apartment is perfect for a couple, with a separate bedroom, full bath, kitchenette and sitting room with TV. But the best part is the fabulous garden/wooded hillside surrounding the apartment. The owners are helpful and friendly while respectful of privacy. It really is an urban oasis just 10 mins from downtown Portland. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location- really in the woods, but minutes from downtown
Liked least: Booking (not fully automated) and return of deposit- glich in your system required me to chase down my deposit. Don't think that it was the owners fault.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPWMemphi...
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quiet, cozy and comfortable”
Reviewed December 30, 2014 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We spent a week in Hillsdale at the great little 1 bedroom retreat on the hill close to the city of Portland. It is not a walk friendly spot but once you get settled, it is easy to not want to leave. Never spent time in the NE section and Hillsdale is close to some great walking trails and parks. The hosts were so great and offered to help out in many nice ways. We really enjoyed them. It is pretty small and there are amenities like a small kitchenette and a few good grocery stores and restaurants at the bottom of the hill.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing