We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great introduction to Portland!”

Portland Walking Tours
Ranked #11 of 111 Tours in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Portland Walking Tours’ fun and award-winning events explore the excitement, history, food, architecture, neighborhoods, bridges, parks, fountains, artwork, and just plain weird places in Portland Oregon. Tours include the award-winning “Best of Portland,” showcasing what makes Portland such a fabulous place to live and visit (daily, 10 AM and 2 PM); our scandalous “Underground Portland,” aka "the worst of Portland," revealing both the physical and metaphorical subterranean story of Portland's sordid past; the eerie “Beyond Bizarre”, a hands-on exploration of Portland's paranormal, using real ghost-hunting equipment as seen on shows like "Ghost Adventurer" (TM) and "Paranormal State" (TM); our delicious “Epicurean Excursion” walking tour, a tasty immersion into Portland's amazing culinary "slow food" scene; our indulgent “Chocolate Decadence Tour," exploring and sampling chocolate in its many solid and liquid forms, from bean to bar and everything in between; "Roses Gone Wild!", which dishes the dirt on Portland's famous International Rose Test Gardens; and "Flavor Street," where you taste the best of Portland's incredible food cart scene - and skip the rest.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We visited Portland for a long weekend and just happened to book the Best of Portland walking tour with Brook as our guide. My husband and I are both volunteer tour guides with a foundation in our city, and we can only hope that we are as good as Brook! Funny, knowledgeable, well-spoken, insightful...it was all there! Really, really enjoyable. We didn't want it to end!

Thank Peg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary C, Manager at Portland Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Peg,

Thank you for the words of praise for Brooke! We'll pass the kudos along to him. We're proud of all of our Resident Experts and the hard work and training they put in year after year to make their tours compelling, engaging and personal. This is why we never ask our Resident Experts to use "canned" tour commentaries - we want to keep it real. Glad you loved the tour!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,136)
There are newer reviews for Portland Walking Tours
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

605 - 609 of 1,136 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013

I took the Best of Portland Tour this afternoon, with Brook as a guide. The whole experience was great - funny, informative, well-paced - in fact an excellent way to spend an afternoon and a good introduction to the city. I'd recommend. But dress warmly if you're doing the tour in the winter!

Thank cornwallchar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary C, Manager at Portland Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear Cornwallchar,

Thanks for the happy kudos! We gladly accept your recommendation. Well done.

We would like to amplify your point - this tour is almost entirely out of doors, so dressing for the weather is essential. A great reminder that we can't say enough!

Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

That was the best! We really enjoyed the expertise of our guide Donna and the wonderful local and global chocolates! Thank you for a great tour. Next time The Pines '. Big Red ' wine and chocolate would be great. My fav Sippin Chocolate!!!!*****

Thank Dufu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary C, Manager at Portland Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Thank you, Dufu, for your great comments. We're thrilled to put Portland's delicious chocolate scene front and center. The variety is amazing enough, but we enjoy the stories about each vendor, flavor and texture just as interesting.

Just to make sure there's no misunderstanding - The Pines, while a great source of chocolatey goodness, isn't currently included... but the idea of dark chocolate and red wine is already making us wish for five o'clock!

Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Josh was fantastic and kept the group engaged the whole time even though it was pouring buckets in the beginning - didn't even phase him. Highly recommend if you like to learn about the intimate and dubious history of Portland.

Thank Carvinmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary C, Manager at Portland Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Dear Carvinmartin,

Are you sure you went on a Portland tour? It never rains here, does it? ;-)

That's the great thing about a tour - you're so entertained by what you're seeing and hearing, you kind of forget about the weather.

We're thrilled that Josh treated you to such an awesome tour. One thing to clarify - the history is real and factual. It's the motives behind the characters involved that were dubious!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I enjoyed this walking tour--The Best of Portland--very much, and as a result of it, feel comfortable walking around downtown Portland. The tour was very informative. I now have "insider information" regarding the area, and just wish I had much more time here!

Thank Waverly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary C, Manager at Portland Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Dear Waverly,

Thanks for the spectacular review! One of the great things about this tour is that it serves as a primer for visitors who want to get to know the area better... and locals, who've lived here forever and often say, "Gee, I didn't know that about Portland!"

I guess that's why Willamette Week rated it as the "Best Way to Fake Being a Native."

Hope you can come back to Portland soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portland Walking Tours also viewed

 

Been to Portland Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing