We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Ace rocks Portland”
Review of Ace Hotel Portland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ace Hotel Portland
Ranked #59 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“The Ace rocks Portland”
Reviewed October 20, 2010

The Ace Hotel Portland is a discrete bohemian retreat in a fantastic food city. We stayed four nights in a large room with sofa, comfortable bed, natural light and a turntable. At first we were a little taken back as it wasn’t the resort style of the PS Ace hotel and swim club but more of a city hotel. The place worked out perfectly with some very cool attributes that force you to be social rather than hide out in your room and order room service. So our room was very much a retreat so in the morning put on Super tramp on the turntable and pull the day together. You have to go down to Stumptown coffee, Clyde Commons or out side for a smoke. So it forces you to engage Portland. The Hotel is close to the best restaurants and bars so you walk to everything. The design of the hotel is bohemian-lux with a fantastic bed and linen, excellent bathing products and clean. The Ace chain is not for every one but it’s grown on me if we want to just relax with cool people.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sastudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    173
    71
    33
    28
See reviews for
47
182
57
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2010

Great location just inside the Pearl District!

This hotel is so uniquely decorated. The wall in our room was covered in Italian newspapers and there were trunks stacked up for the nightstand.

Be sure to request a room with a private bath if that is important to you (there are cheaper rooms with a community bath.

There are two main social areas within the hotel: (1) a study/reading nook (2) lobby that are a popular spot for locals to hang.

Love the restaurant/bar and coffee shops on either side as well.

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tally281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA is home
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Portland is such a cool city. Green, stylish, relaxed but still hip without trying too hard. The Ace hotel meets these standards to a T. It's a very chic space but doesn't try to be somewhere it's not. The space embraces the urban chic of Portland and puts a fun vibe in all the details. Stay, eat, drink and do it at Ace.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calisunkiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannon Beach, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2010

We were in Portland to run the marathon and the dog had to go because she's spoiled. The Ace has great style and an edgy vibe, it's around the corner from Powell's Books, and has a coffee shop opening off the lobby and Kenny and Zuke's next door with better rugelach than I can make. Parking is a block and a half away, the staff is friendly, the lobby always inhabited and features a Photoboth. We stayed in the cheapest room, with the bath down the hall, and even that was fun. The room had wallpaper made from Who's Who. The beds are designed for sitting up and watching TV or reading. The bed pillows are the most uncomfortable I've ever run across, but no one is perfect. We loved it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salukisea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2010

This is not your typical chain hotel. It's quite different and not in a bad sense either. The rooms are minimal (at least the one we stayed in) but very comfortable and clean. We booked through Hotwire and were not paying attention so we booked a queen with shared bathroom by mistake. We tried to correct that point before we departed but the hotel was not forthcoming through e-mail. That's why we were a bit weary. But the Ace hotel didn't dissappoint at all.

The shared bathroom was one door down the hall, with big stacks of towels and it was most of all very big and clean! We didn't encounter any other guests, either at the bathroom or in the hallway, which made us wonder about the occupancy. There is a big lounge, with electricity outlets everywhere. Very convenient if you want to use your laptop! The best coffee in town is right next door (Stumptown Coffee Company) and there is a direct access from the hotel itself. Breakfast is also conveniently close by at the Deli at the corner. Very good service and great breakfast! But the main point we booked this hotel is because it was very close by Powell's City bookstore. Only a 5 minutes walk (if you walk slowly).

We payed $95.00 per night per room during high season, for a queen with shared bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fawkes66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2010

I went to PDX for a food and beer extravaganza, and the Ace made for a perfect base camp. Loved the charcoal gray walls, claw foot tub, murals and olive green wool blankets. And location is stellar right next to Stumptown coffee, a great deli and major buses and tram. Unlike other reviewers who met aloof staff, I found the front desk help to be friendly and attentive. I even called once from the road when I couldn't find a restaurant, and they double-checked the address for me.

If you stay here, do check out the neighboring restaurant Clyde Common's happy hour, which includes great deals on food and craft cocktails. These are bartenders who wax poetic about making their own bitters and possessing limited edition whiskeys from the Prohibition era. But the friendliness tends to outweigh the attitude, and they make some fantastic drinks customized to your preferences. Case in point: a Jim Beam Black, Laphroaig, cherry heering, and orange bitters garnished with an orange peel served on the rocks to satisfy my smoky, citrus craving.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jd294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2010

I was in Portland for the NW Music Festival and wanted to stay someplace fun. The Ace Hotel looked like an interesting place to stay. I took for granted that it would also be a good hotel. If I could sleep and sit on hipness it would have been a great place to stay. The room was uncomfortable. The bed was a futon mattress on the floor. The floor and bedding looked dirty. The only place to sit in the room was a ratty, old school style chair with a torn up vinyl seat. Me and my boyfriend had fun playing old vinyl records on the turn table but again, not really what I'm looking for in hotel accommodations. .

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quirkygirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#9 of 141 in Portland
1,423 reviews
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#6 of 141 in Portland
1,368 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#13 of 141 in Portland
1,402 reviews
Downtown
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#41 of 141 in Portland
284 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ace Hotel Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ace Hotel Portland

Property: Ace Hotel Portland
Address: 1022 SW Stark St, Portland, OR 97205-2610
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ace Hotel Portland 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly, urbanized version of the welcoming country inn along a country lane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ace Hotel Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing