We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would stay again!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ace Hotel Portland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ace Hotel Portland
Ranked #63 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
57 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Would stay again!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

Yes, as other reviewers have mentioned before me, the rooms at Ace Hotel Portland are not the warmest (temperature-wise) out there. I guess it has to do with the hotel being in an old building. But I had a great sleep in the somewhat colder room.
The design of the hotel is marvellous: I loved it! Minimalistic chic, starting with the reception area: a place you want to hang out in all day. Our room was very well designed, with some 'strange' things compared to what you might be used to compared with other hotels (for instance the sink next to the bed in stead of in the bathroom), but it worked. And I loved the old fashioned bathtub, which had a great shower and lovely shampoo, etc. But yes, this is not a hotel for everybody, you have to be a bit into design to appreciate the rooms fully. This is not a regular hotel!
The location is very central. Just a few blocks away from the Pearl district, but also from the more downtown/shopping area. We could walk almost everywhere.
We also had a lovely dinner at the hotels' restaurant, Clyde Common. Great food.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharshankRedemption
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    167
    68
    32
    28
See reviews for
47
175
53
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

The hotel is super hip and trendy, with a Stumptown Coffee shop adjoining, however our room was freezing cold! There were no curtains on our window, instead there was a sliding wooden door, which was pretty pointless, as a mean draft came licking in either side of the door right onto our bed. I had to use some extra pillows and two dressing gowns to block up the draughts - even still we had to sleep in our hoodies!

Room was clean and was a decent size, but not very relaxing place due to the cold. We had a free-standing bath in our room which was cool and the bed was really comfy too.

The Ace Hotel has a great location in downtown Portland - walking distance from Deschutes Brewery, Voodoo Donuts, and the Crystal Ballroom, as well as Nordstrom, etc. Staff were friendly too.

We stayed for three nights and ended up paying close to $600 - it totally wasn't worth that!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sidel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
87 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

I had the opportunity to travel up to Portland for the first time to catch up with a good mate of mine who'd relocated there from our old stomping ground of Boston.

I arrived mid-December and kind of got the fact it would be cold - I was ready. But ending up in a room where the a/c simply did not work which meant the room maintained a constant 12C was pretty miserable for someone who'd flown out of a typical Brisbane summer.

It was kind of fun to have to dress up to go to bed - jeans, jumpers, jackets, and a beanie! But Sunday morning was brutal...In fact, it was warmer to go for a run along the Willamette River than stay in my room.

Credit to the front desk staff who tried to sort the issue - but bugger me the room was cold!

I may give the hotel another try later this year - but I'm inclined to want a guarantee the heating is working before I commit!

Room Tip: If you travel in winter - heating would be a nice addition!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

The location of this hotel is excellent. It puts you right in the middle of everything. Plenty of close restaurants and shopping. There was some cool artwork in the stairway, and some of the rooms (ours was not one of those). They also have bicycles you can borrow for free. Unfortunately, the room left a lot to be desired. The room had a strange set up. Let's talk about the shower first. The shower, toilet and the sink were all in separate areas of the room. The shower was mildewy and had black sludge in the corners. I wore my flip flops in there. Ick. The toilet was in a little closet with a sliding barn door. No big deal, just weird. I had a hard time finding the hand soap. It's the black, Ghirardelli chocolate-sized square hanging from the hook. Just FYI. The bed was terrible. I felt like I was sleeping on a cinder block. I'll just call that very, very firm. However, the worst part of the stay was the loud howling wind sound all through the night. I'm fairly sure it was a weird air pressure thing inside the building. It wasn't present during the day. Just in the middle of the night. Apparently that's what the earplugs were for. That and all of the noise from adjacent rooms. I could hear everything.
I generally don't switch hotels during a stay, but I was so disappointed with my one night experience, that we packed up and moved to a Marriott for the remainder of our stay. On the plus side, I really liked the conditioner which I brought it with us to the Marriott.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaybee_96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westwood, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
153 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

hung out with the 2 teen age boys in portland for the weekend & found the ace to be a "cool" place... an evening whiskey at the attached restaraunt was fun & the stumptown coffee an excellent morning starter... fun times! lots of boutique hotels to chose from in portland, but ace is always on top of its game.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank greenskyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

I was attracted to this hotel by the photos of cool, unique rooms, reasonable rates and good location.

They "aced" the latter two- and even partly the first. The room was interesting with the barn doors, newspaper clipping wallpaper and industrial finish.

But the room was freezing (very likely no insulation in the walls or just leaky ancient windows); the tile in the shower was so gross I didn't use it; The low tech old school room key is quaint, but didn't leave me feeling secure in this neighborhood; the noise was not to an acceptable level late into the night, and while I appreciate the provided earplugs there are plenty of choices nearby for the same price but with better insulation.

I wouldn't stay here again. Best for hipsters who don't sleep or shower.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alpinehills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

I have now stayed at the Ace in Portland twice and love it. The rooms are simple and kept very clean. The location is perfect! Easily ride the light rail from the airport, which stops only blocks from the Ace.
Don't forget to try the Stumptown coffee in the lobby. They make a very nice latte.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for an interior room. I noticed I could hear the trash being collected early in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Breanna31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#11 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Downtown
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#41 of 138 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#14 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ace Hotel Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ace Hotel Portland

Property: Ace Hotel Portland
Address: 1022 SW Stark St, Portland, OR 97205-2610
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ace Hotel Portland 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly, urbanized version of the welcoming country inn along a country lane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Ace Hotel Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing