We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cool & unique experience. Great location.”
Review of Ace Hotel Portland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ace Hotel Portland
Ranked #59 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Quite an expensive choice... But you are paying for the incredible central location, and trendy hipster experience. Parking pass is $25/day and is down the road about 2-3 minutes walking distance. Basic breakfast available for about $10

PROS:
-Location. Next to great places to eat, central and within walking distance to Pearl District, Powells Books etc.
-Very cool decor, clean rooms.
-free vintage bikes to use, or newer ones to rent
-Very Pet/dog friendly

CONS
-same problem as a previous reviewer... No hot water to shower one day.
-Older building with thin floors.. We were kept up one night by people walking/banging around above us.
-some minor street noise early in the morning.

Not sure if this is the best choice for much older travelers, or younger families, but i would still recommend. Over all, a great stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SomeDood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (477)
There are newer reviews for Ace Hotel Portland
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 477 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Ace Hotel has some unique assets that offset its monk-like room amenities. Clyde Commons, a fabulous restaurant, adjoins the hotel on one side, and the lobby opens right into Stumptown Coffee on the other side. Clyde Commons has a lively bar scene at night, so you've really got all of your basic needs covered in one location.

There is a reasonably priced parking lot nearby, but do your research and locate it before you arrive. Traffic in this area can be dense at times and there isn't a valet to park your car. Once you are checked in, you can easily get around Portland without a car. The hotel is walking distance from bookstores, shops, bars, and restaurants.

Hotel staff were attentive and helpful. The rooms were clean and simply furnished with brown wool blankets serving as the bedspreads. Each room has a unique decor. Ours had a mural with a quote from Thoreau on the wall. Hipster happiness! I think they charge $10 per person if you choose to partake in the all you can eat breakfast served on site. It smelled good, but we decided to go down the street and get a bagel instead. The room had a nice sound system, WiFi, flat screen TV, and a little sink in the bedroom (but no sink in the bathroom.) There were snacks and drinks in the room available to buy. Earplugs were provided next to the bed, but we didn't need them until the trash truck came by in the morning with a seemingly endless quantity of bottles and cans to collect right below our bedroom window.

I would definitely stay here again. It's just not for everyone -- if you like luxury hotels, this is not your spot. If you like a convenience with a retro vibe, check in at the Ace!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QC2theMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Although my family felt a bit too mainstream to be staying in such a hip hotel, we LOVED the Ace Hotel. The location is great and the rooms are excellent (even the triple, which doesn't have a bathroom, but was fine for my 3 kids), and the coffee shop in the lobby is outstanding. I didn't get a chance to take out of the hotel bicycles but the fact that they had several of them was great too. I may never stay in another hotel in Portland again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYC_Traveler10025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

So hip it hurts. So come here with an open heart. I loved everything about the Ace Hotel. The lobby with a photo booth, old carpeted and painfully slow elevator, long daunting hallways and dormitory (esque) room plastered in concert posters. I loved that we shared a bathroom and used beautiful hair products. I loved the scene around the hotel with the cinema and cinematic vibe and the proximity to Chinatown's edginess. I was obsessed with the comfort of my bed while unsure as to the constant hum in the night. Ironies. This hotel is for those that appreciate purposeful imperfection mixed with perfection. I'm 39.
Now, my 14 year old son thought he would lose it if he saw one more person in rolled up pants. Our generation gap spoke loudly at this location. He couldn't stand all the hipsters, hipness and vintage mixed with luxury. He thought the photobooth was "try hard" and the room too budget. Though he certainly enjoyed the Dutch stroup waffles in the mini bar! If you go to the Ace Hotel, be less of a hipster critique and more of a museum goer. This is really the heart-start of Portland and the culture that my son's generation will rebel against.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The ace is in the ideal location for a portland getaway. While pricey, the room was comfortable albeit sparsely equipped. The staff are effective and the bar restaurant next to the hotel is great. The lobby is a real scene, excellent hipster sightings.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank KyleB60713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is a very cool hotel, tuned to a young, hip sensibility and yet extremely friendly and welcoming to a couple near-senior citizens. Great lobby scene, with a coffeeshop on one side and a restaurant-bar on the other. Rooms on the small side but uniquely decorated, beds good. The vibe borders on the precious, vinyl records and rubber-stamp graphics, but the staff has a great attitude and works hard at making everything easy. The $10 breakfast is a great value: unusual, imaginative, and high-quality. Would not think of staying anywhere else in Portland.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrankOphelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Spent 2 nights at the Ace Hotel in Portland and really enjoyed it. It is quite different to the hotels I am used to staying in, but glad we tried it and would happily go back. Staff were very friendly and always made us feel welcome. They also had some good recommendations for places close by to eat and drink.

We shared a Standard Front Double room with another couple for the 2 nights. We had 2 double beds (facing each other rather than next to each other which I think was better). The beds were extremely comfortable and we were not bothered with any noise. There was a door that covered the window completely like blackout curtains would - perfect for a good night sleep.

There was a basin in the room (outside of the bathroom) which made it easier for getting ready when someone was in the bathroom. The bathroom was my only complaint - the wooden door did not shut completely, and noise travelled straight from the bathroom, so you could not shower without waking everyone up.

The location of the hotel was excellent. Portland is a very easy city to walk and we left our car in the parking lot for our whole stay. There are so many great cafes and bars in the area, we loved the food and craft beer/cider. Lots of great cocktails as well!

Voodoo Doughnuts is definitely a must in Portland, but beware the line ups are long. We went to the one outside of town and only had to wait a few minutes.

Overall, I enjoyed the Ace Hotel, even though it is so different to hotels we usually stay in and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank breezey103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#9 of 144 in Portland
1,545 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 144 in Portland
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#13 of 144 in Portland
1,422 reviews
Downtown
Benson Hotel
Benson Hotel
#18 of 144 in Portland
2,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ace Hotel Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ace Hotel Portland

Address: 1022 SW Stark St, Portland, OR 97205-2610
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Price Range: $186 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ace Hotel Portland 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly, urbanized version of the welcoming country inn along a country lane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Ace Hotel Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing