We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A delightful place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ahi Sushi +Tapas - CLOSED

Ahi Sushi +Tapas
Cuisines: Indian, Sushi, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 21st Avenue
Description: Open and inviting, Vindalho redefines the neighborhood restaurant and bar. Our modern interpretations of classic Indian dishes are always freshly prepared with high quality, responsibly produced, and locally sourced ingredients. Flavorful, creative food together with friendly, informative service makes Vindalho a perfect choice for dinner in Southeast Portland.
Happy Valley
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A delightful place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

Wide range of menu options, inexpensive choices, delicious food, very pleasant atmosphere, excellent service. Only negative is, if they are busy, street parking is limited so go early. Used a Groupon coupon, but will go back again. Highly recommended!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerryi54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    15
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stopped at Vindalho for dinner, expecting a traditional Indian atmosphere and traditional food. Instead we found a modern restaurant and a brilliant interpretation of traditional Indian dishes. In my opinion the chef, who is not Indian, did a fantastic job.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RemoT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
73 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Inventive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Good inventive food. Nice drinks. Love the different chutney's. It's a good twice a year venue but not a staple. This is fusion, not classic Indian food.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
234 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“A bit overpriced ~ Worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

The food was excellent. We had chicken tikka masala and it may have been the best ever. The nan was fresh, not from some vendor in Missouri. The wine selection is focused, but not as overpriced as the food.

Service was good and bad. The primary server was attentive and timely. In a near empty restaurant, the greeter type had to inquire if we had reservations after we had been seated. She is a redundant employee performing a function of no value. My recommendation is, fire her and and adjust the prices closer to the market.

Helpful?
Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great way to head into the New Year”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Booked a ressie at the last minute for an early New Years Eve dinner. What a great choice!!! They use only the highest quality ingredients. And as compared to so many Indian restaurants, the disctinctive and flavorful ingredients used here all shine. We especially enjoyed the pork (!?!) vindaloo and chicken tikka masala. Not very often do you see pork on the menu at an Indian restaurant. Here it was done wonderfully, the vindaloo was just the right level of spice.

Try the chutney sampler with your main dishes. The pear chutney and the mint coriander chutney (!!!!!!) were the best. The tomato chutney, just meh.

Finally we finished with the traditional Indian desserts, lime tart and chocolate chili pot de creme. Hardly the usual but both very high quality and tasty.

Having enjoyed Indian food in countries around the world, this would easily rank with the best we've had in India or London.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RogerLC444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing