We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly Portland & Super Spicy!”
Review of Pok Pok Restaurant

Pok Pok Restaurant
Ranked #35 of 4,293 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfectly Portland & Super Spicy!”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

My husband and I visited Pok Pok after consistent recommendations from several friends. We had heard we'd need to wait, so went prepared. We dined on a Monday night around 8pm - we queued for a short while, and told our table would be 30 minutes. We were given a ticket and directed to the sister bar across the street Whisky & Soda. No sooner had we arrived there, and got our drinks the staff at the bar let us know our table at Pok Pok was ready! Great, although we could have happily stayed in situ for another round of drinks! Pok Pok was lively, loud, bustling ... tables quite tightly packed with one another. Not a place I'd take young children and I wonder how easy it would be to go as a larger group of friends? You won't find any 'traditional' or 'standard' Thai dishes on the menu - this is authentic Thai. Food was very tasty ... the papaya salad really packed a punch! Waiter was really knowledgeable, and really helped us choose dishes that suited our tastes and pallet - he offered great recommendations. A great experience, would definitely recommend and go again next time we visit Portland.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DillyDaudle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    624
    339
    149
    61
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
397 reviews
275 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Worth the Trip”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We needed to take a cab from downtown to get to Pok Pok and we had to wait about 30 minutes for a table, but the food was wonderful. We heard the owner interviewed on NPR and wanted to be sure to eat there when we were in Portland. Our expectations were certainly fulfilled. I wish we lived close enough to eat there frequently.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Larry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Coast US
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“i love this place”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

the waits can be long, the atmosphere is funkey, and I love this place. Nice tap, great food, go when you are not in a rush.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank desertcrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unique Asian Infusion”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

This is a fun, hip place with unique Asian inspired meals and includes local ingredients. I've never been fond of "wings" as an appetizer or dinner choice, but my mind has been changed! The spicier the better. Great food, fun drinks and this all started as a whiskey bar. Who knew?

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lori H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Four of us went on a Sunday late afternoon. The place was pretty full,so we had to wait for around 15 minutes; and it was worth the wait
liked the Khao Man Som Tam best, Fish Sauce Wings and Kung Op Wun Sen (especially the Prawns dipped in the sauce they gave) tied second; the Pork Ribs was just about OK.

Note that there is a Salt and Straw ice-cream shop just about a minute away (by walk)

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ranajoysanyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pok Pok Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Pok Pok Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing