We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely reminder of our time in Spain. Unpretentious, great service and great food.”
Review of Patanegra - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Patanegra
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Northwest District
Newberg, Oregon, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely reminder of our time in Spain. Unpretentious, great service and great food.”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

The best wine list in Portland!!! From the moment we arrived our experience was splendid. Authentic Spanish food complete with the laid back atmosphere that makes Spain unique.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jere W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    9
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Medford, OR
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A pleasant Midsummer's evening in Portland’s NW District”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We celebrated our wedding anniversary with two friends at the Patanegra. We were treated to pleasant shorts weather on this midsummer solstice evening and took an outside sidewalk table. With 4 persons, and a lot of food, the table was a bit tight, but that just added to the ambiance.

We ordered a combination of Paella Marianna for two (served in one dish), and several items off of the dinner/tapas menu including the namesake pata negra ham sharing the spread. Three of us chose the house sangria and I enjoyed a Spanish beer. Total price for 4 including a gratuity: $178.

Service was fine with the right amount of attention for a long casual dinner. Drinks and meal were all enjoyable.

Not a budget dinning experience, but we were celebrating and enjoyed our evening. We would certainly visit again.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ElgarMedford_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
“Love Spanish food and it's people... LOVE Patanegra!”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

I have visited Patanegra many many times over the years and decided that a review was long overdue. I am not usually the "review" sort. But it is a warm and always happy experience.
Ricardo and his crew, is you will, are proud and happy to be of service and do so in a typically relaxed and effortless manner. It is what you would expect in Spain and what you can get right here in Portland. Sunshine allows for the outdoor seating to buzz a little and so come early if that's what you are looking for. But to me, any time of year is a great time to enjoy the savory and aromatic bites that come out of that gathering in the kitchen. If Sangria is your thing! Try it here, very nice! Just about anything is going to be tasty and great with a sip from their excellent wine offerings.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoAnnePerreault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“If you can't be in Spain ...”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Patanegra is getting better. We've visited the restaurant many times over the years, and there have been some occasions where it was lacking - typically in service, rather than food. On our most recent visit, everything came together - the food was great, the service was efficient, and the evening delightful. There's now a chorizo sampler from Olympic Provisions - OK, not authentic Spanish, but pretty awesome! Also, if the thought of blood sausage doesn't freak you out, the morcillo is delicious. And what can I say about the huge list of Spanish wines? Don't be afraid to ask for a recommendation.

The restaurant is a little pricey, so we save it for special occasions, but I look forward to another visit in the not too distant future.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheRealPhilGold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great tapas”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

After I told a friend we are going to Spain this summer, she suggested Patanegra for tapas to get us in the mood. Ricardo, the owner, was very welcoming and the waiter was really knowledgeable about the food and especially the wines. The tapas were fabulous. My favorite had to be teh rollitos de berenjena (grilled eggplant and goat cheese), my husbands favorite were the grilled scallops. I didn't try the Sangria but have heard wonderful things about it.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shannon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Patanegra also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing