We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy and Fun” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Pigeon

Le Pigeon
Reserve with OpenTable
Le Pigeon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 4,236 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $100
Cuisines: French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 8th Avenue
Transit: #12 and #20 buses.
Hillsboro
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Yummy and Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I visited this fine establishment during the holiday season and had a wonderful experience. The ambiance was lovely. This place has a copper backsplash to the stove! It is a very small restaurant. You can see your meal being prepared, There are long shared tables but man o man can they cook. Hubby and I shared a lovely meal done well. The before dinner cocktail for me and the wine list for my husband were well stocked and well made. Dessert (well who doesn't love it!) were divine. The only warning is as you are at long shared tables don't expect a super private romantic evening. We were placed next to a couple of business colleagues on one side and another couple out on a first date on the left. We are enjoyed eavesdropping on both conversations off and on but because they were both so close it somehow felt wrong but harder to resist. This would be the perfect place to go with a group of friends or on the right night we would have struck up a conversation with our neighbors. Final word..Go go go it is worth every bite but don't use this one for the super romantic marriage proposal.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    73
    29
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
159 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A taste of France in Portland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

What a surprise! We had reservations on a Sunday night, walked in and our "table" was ready for the four of us. There is little room and tables are shared. We saw people walk in and walk out without reservations. While I would not call us "foodies", we have spent a lot of time in France so we have the taste. It was an authentic experience. The menu is short but the food is fresh. That overcomes the limited selections. The complexities of the preparation were exceptional. Their beverages were not limited to wine only. Recommendations from the waiter showed a high knowledge level. We were just visitors to Portland and did not expect this quality in a French cuisine. If we lived here, this would be a special occasion visit that could become more often.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wgroves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
53 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perhaps the Best in Portland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Portland is a foodie town and Le Pigeon is one of the very best in Portland. Serious food people should not miss Le Pigeon. Great service, great food, excellent wines, fair pricing. The location is not perfect, but it is just fine, requiring parking in an edgy neighborhood, although the new eastside street car line can take you within 2 blocks. Braised meats, creative fish, excellent appetizers, well-selected wines for a fair price, great serious foodie atmosphere. Welcoming staff and entertaining kitchen, whcih si visible from every table. Dont miss this place, as it is one of the top 2 or 3 restaurants (maybe the best??) in town.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CondeCox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food, casual atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

We showed up and were advised that the wait was going to be about 45mins but they would call when our table was ready, so we headed up the street to Doug Fir for a bevy. We were seated in 45mins as promised at the bar, in front of the kitchen. This made for a great experience as we love to cook too. Watching was great. We are both wine-educated (a server's nightmare!) and received a spot on recommendation for a 2005 Bordeaux to pair with the braised beef cheek. All in all an exceptional dining experience.

Helpful?
Thank MikeClap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Amazing.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic food, great service. Seating is a little crowded, but food is so wonderful you hardly notice.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pazduha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Pigeon also viewed

 

Been to Le Pigeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing