We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for the Pearl District”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Ranked #4 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 5, 2014

I quite liked this hotel which is apparently new (about 4 weeks I was informed), very handy for the Pearl District and still clean and tidy, however I have a few observations.

Firstly, the "complimentary" breakfast ( it always annoys me when they say complimentary as we all know we pay for it anyway) was a little basic and the facilities and set-up would be familiar to anyone that's undergone basic army training. It also closes at 9:30 which nearly caught us out as just about everywhere else I've stayed goes on until 10.

Secondly, don't use the valet parking service as all they do is put it in the multi story car park next door and charge you way above the car park rate.

We also had a visit from a room service attendant who didn't knock and just walked straight into the room, much to the surprise of my wife. Luckily we were dressed and in a state of relaxation at the time otherwise it could have been red faces all round.

It would also seem that the lift capacity is less than would be ideal as we seemed to have to wait for a lift every time. It's not helped by the fact that one of the three lifts is commandeered by house-keeping thereby reducing the available capacity by one-third at a stroke.

Oh, and the swimming pool is little more than a long bath.

Other than that I thought the rooms were well equiped and the hotel served our purpose well.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Ring0Starr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura A, Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay at our hotel. We are happy to hear that the hotel is in a location that was suitable for your needs. We appreciate the constructive feedback concerning the valet parking, the pool, the elevator, the complimentary breakfast, and your overall room experience. Your feedback is appreciated as it helps us to learn about areas that we can improve upon. We hope that we have the opportunity to earn you back as a guest in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (626)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

590 - 596 of 626 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2014

We booked three nights at this hotel on our recent vacation to Portland. The hotel is in a fantastic location. We were able to walk to everything we wanted to see and to all of the breweries and restaurants we were interested in going to. The hotel is brand new so it's very clean and modern looking. The staff is very friendly. Since it's a Residence Inn, the rooms are very large with a sitting area and a little kitchen. The kitchen was not a necessity for us but it was nice to have. The breakfast was very good every morning. Maybe we went a off times, but we never found it to be very crowded or have long lines. My only negative about this hotel is the cost of parking. We paid $32 per night for parking. I think that's an outrageous price and honestly, if I could have parked in a municipal lot then I would have. I have never paid such an expensive price for parking before.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sarah421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura A, Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate the positive comments and the 5 Star rating. We are so happy that you received friendly service, the room was clean, the location was conveinent, and you enjoyed our food in the restaurant. Feedback of any kind is the nourishment that lets us grow and we hope that we have the opportunity to have you back as guest in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Overall, a nice hotel but could be great with a few improvements:

The good: Location! So easy to hop on the street car. Nice residential neighborhood in the Pearl. Friendly staff. Good coffee, and breakfast was good but very busy with lines. Very comfy beds! Requested early check-in which was honored with no problems. Room was clean and fresh.

The not-so-good: I liked the modern decor, but it started to feel stark pretty quick. One piece of wall art does not a cozy room make, nor the white-on-white color theme. The sofa was uncomfortable after sitting for a short period of time. There were no luggage racks in the room - a necessary item for those of us who are aging and have back problems - so had to request them and they were delivered later in the day. TV channels were minimal with no movie-on-demand service. No pamphlets or information available about Portland, the neighborhood, transportation, restaurants, etc. so I'm glad I brought my laptop to look stuff up. Pool is small with no hot tub which was disappointing; really wanted a soak. Cleaning service arrived late (between 5:00 and 6:00 pm). Tried to print out a boarding pass and the printer didn't work.

With some tweaking, this place could be really good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mtngirl455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura A, Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback concerning the items that we can improve upon to enhance our guests overall experience. I apologize that there were features at our hotel that were missing from your stay which would have absolutely made it more enjoyable for you. We hope that we have the opportunity to earn you back as a guest and thank you once again for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Previous reviews seem to sum this place up pretty well...so I'll be brief.

Fantastic location. Extremely new, and therefore clean, property. As it is a Residence Inn, rooms are very large compared to a typical urban downtown hotel. Having a small kitchen in the room is fantastic, as in our case, we have a toddler...so it was very helpful.

Check in was pretty smooth. Friendly front desk.

Only one glitch during our stay, which was more concerning about what "could have happened", than what actually happened, and it deals with Housekeeping. While there for our three nights, we opted not to have our room serviced. Any needed new towells, coffee, etc, we just ordered from the front desk, after returning from a day's outing.

On one of the returns to the hotel room, we noticed someone had clearly been in the room, even though we had clearly left the "do not come in our room" sign hanging on the door knob. Was our Ipad, Laptop, or any other item of value stolen? No. But the simple fact that someone entered, when we specifically requested "do not disturb", was concerning at the very least.

In addition, the fact that it happened can't really be explained by saying "our worker must not have understood your request". I mean, hanging a sign like that on the door knob eliminates any potential language barriers of whomever may be in housekeeping. In other words, a do not disturb sign means the same thing in any language, regardless of their native tongue. So, there was really no excuse to be given.

Talked to the front desk. They quickly checked, confirmed it happened, apologized, and offered a rate reduction for our stay as a gesture of the apology. This was appreciated, especially since I hadn't asked for it. During check out, however, the front desk person didn't honor this (different desk person). Instead, she said that he must offered the discount for just one night, not the stay. Oh well, I wasn't about to bicker and be THAT guy....so I just left. But it would have been nice if the original offer was upheld.

Final comments....Breakfast...it was OK. Hot and cold items, nothing gourmet, but many choices. As others have written, the lines can be LONG. In fact, we skipped breakfast 2 of the days for that reason. Go early if this is important to your stay.

Lastly...a parking tip, if you're looking to save money there....there is a Secured Parking garage across the street from the hotel. Literally, right across the street (nearest the train station/river-side corner). $4 a day weekend, $8 weekday, much better than $32 valet plus tip. When it's not this convenient, I always go valet. But when parking is 20 feet from the hotel, different story.

Room Tip: Courtyard facing rooms likely the most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank reddyrider2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura A, Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your stay at the Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District. We appreciate your feedback concerning the issues that occurred within our housekeeping department and have taken measure to ensure this does not happen again. I also want to apologize for the incident at check out and our lack of communication. I wanted to take a moment to make a public apology and acknowledge that your stay clearly did not live up to the expectations you had for us and that we set for ourselves. Customer feedback helps us to learn about areas of improvement and we hope that we have the opportunity to earn you back as a guest in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

As with all Residence Inn by Marriott properties, the room has a kitchen that includes a sink, coffee maker, full-size refrigerator, bar-type dining area, pots, pans, dishes, and silverware for your use. There's a small living room with a flat-screen TV, and, in our case, a king size bed. The bathroom was a good size. It had a large shower, toilet, sink, and toiletries. You will find an iron and ironing board in the closet. There is plenty of storage space. The only thing the room lacks is an in-room safe (you can leave your valuables in the hotel's safe). On Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday, from 5:30pm to 7:00pm, there's the Manager's Reception where you can make a whole meal of the munchies and hot hors d'oeuvres offered. The location of this Residence Inn (there's another one near the waterfront) was perfect for us because we could easily walk to the nearest streetcar stop and ride to wherever we want. There were also places to eat nearby, including a Safeway grocery store. We would definitely stay here again if our travel plans included Portland.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura A, Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to give feedback on our Residence Inn Portland Downtown Pearl District Hotel. We are happy to hear that it was convenient and that the room was up to date and well maintained. We will look forward to having you as a guest with us if your travels bring you to Portland again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

I've spent a night there with my friends. We booked 2 beds + sofa bed room. Room was really nice and looked like it was renovated recently. Our stay included breakfast, which was pretty good.

Hotel is located in 15 minute walk from the heart of Downtown. If you are lazy to walk, cab is just about $5.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vladimir G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura A, Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. Please come back again if your travels bring you to Portland, Oregon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

This brand new hotel is in the very hip and desirable Pearl District. The room is a standard size room with couch plus a small kitchenette. Modern and tasteful accommodations. Nice staff and much more upscale than the average Residence Inn....What you would expect from a downtown hotel location. The best part was the rail access to the convention center across the river and the plethora of both affordable and upscale dining options. My new favorite for under $200 a night.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank travellogger411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura A, Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Wow- thank you for your wonderful "5 star review" on our hotel. We are excited that we exceeded your already very high expectations and that your room was clean, up to date and well maintained. We are happy to hear that our hotel was convienent for your stay in Portland. We will look forward to having you as a guest in the future if your travels bring you to Portland again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Hotel deLuxe
#6 of 144 in Portland
2,856 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#7 of 144 in Portland
1,633 reviews
Downtown
Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District

Address: 1150 NW 9th Ave, Portland, OR 97209-3583
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Pearl
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Price Range: $152 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District 3*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set a pace that suits you at the Residence Inn by Marriott Portland Downtown/Pearl District. Our brand-new extended stay hotel in Portland, Oregon offers spacious and modern studio, one- and two-bedroom suites with separate living and sleeping areas. Enjoy home cooked meals in your suite - you have a fully equipped kitchen at your disposal, and we provide complimentary grocery delivery service to fill your refrigerator - or take advantage of our hotel's free hot breakfast every morning. If your extended stay is business related, you'll have excellent perks including free Internet access at your disposal. Our hotel also offers a modern fitness center and evening social hours, to allow you to get to know your fellow hotel guests. And our superb Pearl District location puts the very best of downtown Portland, Oregon at your fingertips. Whether you're here for a few days, a few weeks, or an extended stay, the Residence Inn by Marriott Portland Downtown/Pearl District will make sure that you thrive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing