We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming place in Portland”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of A Painted Lady Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Painted Lady Inn
Ranked #17 of 36 Portland B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Charming place in Portland”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

I only spent a night at this charming B&B. The place is very nice and brings you back into the late 19th century with the decoration, wall paper, furniture, etc. The place is clean, conveniently located and relatively small such to make you feel at home.

The cottage outside is the only option with private bath. The rooms inside the main building share two bathrooms.

Breakfast was good but nothing extraordinary.

Overall it was an average deal with a cost that matched the service.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diego G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    8
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
9
18
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

We greatly enjoyed our visit to the Painted Lady. A lovely restored Victorian house with crackling fireplaces. Jody was a wonderful host, doing strange and wonderful things with scrambled eggs. (Do ask about the hot water system before you take your shower, though. There are intricacies.)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmeyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

I am very impressed with the hospitality and warmth The Painted Lady Inn offers. During my recent stay during the cold snap of winter the house was warm and inviting as was Jodie. She let me look around and admire the rooms. With the space available she has managed to maintain the balance of Victorian richness and comfort with the convenience of a fantastic location and great value. For the cost of an overnight stay it is difficult to beat this quality. The rooms are impeccably decorated and clean. The breakfast table is a delight of conversation with other guests and Jodie's own cooking which is light, refreshing and delicious. The Painted Lady Inn and Jodie has the highest of recommendations in my opinion. As a Brit aborad this truly made me feel at home.

Room Tip: For larger groups The Cottage is ideal and the other rooms are ideal for couples being quite spaciou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sion H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed here in mid-December while visiting family and friends in Portland and were the only guests. The Painted Lady is close to shops, coffeehouses, bookstores and transportation. The house itself was cozy and tastefully decorated. The room itself was inviting (if somewhat chilly), the bed was warm and very comfortable, and the breakfast delicious. We stayed in the only room on the first floor which had a private bath just outside of the room. If staying again, we would choose one of the three upstairs rooms since the downstairs room was above where the owners lived and was somewhat noisy during the day (for our afternoon nap) which was unavoidable and certainly no fault of the owners. All in all this was a great place to stay for our short trip and would definitely consider for future visits.

Room Tip: Choose the downstairs room for more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

I just spend three nights at A Painted Lady in the beautiful Irvington Neighborhood in Portland. I chose to stay in the cottage rather than in the house, because I enjoy that sort of setting. I had complete privacy, and couldn't have been happier with the cottage itself. It was truly charming. Jody was the ideal host, making me feel welcome without being intrusive.

Since the cottage has a kitchen I had my own breakfast and didn't eat in the house, so I can't comment on that aspect. My overall experience was completely positive, however, and I highly recommend A Painted Lady.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet, private, cozy, well-appointed space, you can't beat the cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank froggielorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

I booked a room for a few days at A Painted Lady on the recommendation of a friend who has stayed here multiple times over the years when she visits her brother who lives nearby. Jody has done a wonderful job renovating and furnishing this lovely old Victorian. I was fortunate to come in the spring when the lilac was in full bloom, which was a treat to see (and smell!) from the front porch swing. The common areas downstairs are beautifully furnished, and there are cozy places to curl up with a good book. There is very easy access to downtown and Northwest Portland via public transport. Check out nearby Milo's Cafe for tasty fare, Twisted (a fun yarn shop) and Broadway Books (wonderful independent bookstore with friendly staff), all within easy walking distance of A Painted Lady. Breakfast was delicious (the eggs were my favorite), and a couple of mornings I found that I had stayed and chatted with Jody and the other guests for well over an hour! (My intention is usually to eat and head out, but I totally lost track of time). We stayed upstairs in The Master, which had a very comfortable bed and a sitting area, enough room to visit with our son and daughter-in-law who live nearby. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

This is my second stay at A Painted Lady and I enjoyed it even more the second time. I now consider this my home away from home while in Portland. The accommodations are cozy and comfortable, the house solid, warm, and charming. And Jody, our hostess, is wonderful and fun, a true original.

I love the charm of this old place (love the porch swing; one of my favorite places!) and as a bonus, it sits smack dab in the midst of one of the most vibrant, beautiful, user-friendly neighborhoods in a city that has its share of these. Give it a try! You won't be sorrry.

Room Tip: If you don't mind a bathroom down the hall, the master is a great room at the top of the house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,661 reviews
Hotel Eastlund
#11 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn at Northrup Station
#6 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Painted Lady Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Painted Lady Inn

Property: A Painted Lady Inn
Address: 1927 NE 16th Ave, Portland, OR 97212-4426
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in vibrant Northeast Portland, A Painted Lady Inn combines timeless Victorian charm and unparalleled hospitality to create your home away from home. Wake up to an appetizing, homemade breakfast -- the perfect way to start your time exploring the City of Roses. Spend your day at a Blazers' game or dining in the Pearl District, and then curl up for a restful sleep in one of our beautifully decorated, cozy rooms. Located just minutes from hip shops, fine restaurants, and the city's light rail system, a stay with us leaves the best of Portland right at your fingertips. Whether you're staying overnight to visit family or for a weekend getaway, we're happy to provide the ideal place to unwind. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing