We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, not easy location to drive into”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Airport
Ranked #92 of 146 Hotels in Portland
Reviewed August 24, 2014

I was surprised that this was quite a nice motel. The rooms was clean and updated. Larger fridge then most motels. Breakfast was good. The only drawback was trying to get into the parking lot. After driving around the place twice we finally settled on doing an illegal across double yellow lines. It's on the corner of two major cross streets with constant traffic coming around the corner. Still now sure the correct way to get in.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lamykin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (325)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 325 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2014

After reading many reviews, I have chosen this hotel for the following reasons:
1. Close to the airport and car rental locations - we were arriving at PDX at almost 2 am and needed a simple/close location for 1 night before we started our Oregon trip.
2. Reasonable price
3. Qualified for Amex points
We were met at the hotel by a very friendlily and accommodating host. Our room was just as expected - simple yet clean and had all the minimal amenities that we needed. Bathroom was newly remodeled and it was a nice touch. Place was quiet through the night and in the morning there was a simple breakfast at the office. For a short stay this is a very nice place.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bittycar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Had reservations for this motel because of Trip Advisor's recommendation and having a 24 hr shuttle. Unfortunately after arriving on our flight we called the motel for over 25 minutes with no response (4 different phone calls from 2 different phones). After almost giving up we contacted customer service with Quality Inns and they called and contacted them for us. Said they had received no calls (ha ha) as there was another lady on our shuttle that had waited almost 35 for the shuttle.
After 10 days in the northwest and having motels with elevators to upper floors we didn't enjoy climbing the stairs with all our luggage - but for the price that should of been expected.
Other than that the room was clean, bed comfortable and shuttle was on time the next morning.

Room Tip: If a senior request a ground level room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JoeM_12-20-2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

The room was nice, clean and comfortable. The drive was a bit difficult getting into the property, since traffic converges around the motel towards on-ramps and busy thoroughfares. To give you an idea: I sat in the car for 20 minutes in stopped traffic around 5pm, and was less than a few hundred feet away from the lobby entrance. Once we finally arrived, the car was definitely getting parked for the night, and we walked to a nearby diner.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank honestrealreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014

I stayed here just for one night upon arrival into PDX. The hotel is literally next door to the airport. It is an older (outdoor style motor inn) hotel - but the property is well maintained, EXCELLENT front Desk check in and service and the room was amazingly beautiful and comfy. I should mention - Quiet too! The room was large and bigger than most modern day hotel rooms. Good Job on this property!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank td397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Staying in the city is expensive but we found this hotel was a great alternative. Many of the reviews state that it's close to the rail line. Well, "close" is subjective. If you are traveling with small kids it might not feel so close. And it didn't seem like such a short walk in the rain (which it did a lot!) But, overall the location was very convenient.

The staff at check-in (and check-out) were very friendly. They were happy to store our luggage for us after we checked out so we could enjoy the city one last time before our evening flight. Coffee in the lobby was kind of awful. Sorry to say that! I didn't go to breakfast (I prefer sleeping in) so I didn't have a chance to try the breakfast coffee. Hubby had the hotel breakfast and said it was just fine.

The pool is really kid-friendly which was a plus (multi-level shallow ends) but it was also icy cold. Not a plus. Although we got in on a cloudy day (the one day it didn't rain!) So maybe a sunnier day would have warmed the water up a little? Very cool pool, in more ways than one!

The room was your typical hotel room. Although the "kitchen" area was not. Really nice setup. Felt like home with beautiful counter tops and ample cabinet space, counter space and even drawers! Mini fridge and microwave completed the setup.

Some reviews said this hotel was quiet. Not in our experience. We had noisy neighbors upstairs. They must have had at least six children, or a small herd of buffalo. Either way I started (not so affectionately) calling them The McStompersons. My husband wasn't fussed by it so he refused to let me ask for a new room. So I guess my room tip is....get an upper floor room. And if you're up there, step lightly. And don't let your children (or buffalo) run and jump around. If you have jumpers, stay on the lower level and save your neighbors a headache.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ShellyKP34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMor179, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Thank you for reviewing The Quality Inn and Suites. We appreciate your business and review. It is true the pacific northwest gets a lot of rain; sorry you had to experience that. The pool is heated to 78 degrees but in the pacific northwest outside temperatures determine if the pool is warm or not. I wish you had said something about being disturbed by up stairs room we would have found you a room where you would have not had to deal with that. Unfortunately we cant do much after you check out bit if you inform us while you are here we will bend over backwards to make your stay more comfortable and relaxed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

I chose this hotel for its reasonable price, free breakfast, and location. The guest room was nicer than I was anticipating. There was free WiFi, a large closet with mirrored sliding doors, and a large flat-screen TV. The sink area had an antique-style vanity, and a separate counter for coffeemaker, microwave, and refrigerator (freezer part actually worked!). Considering that is is surrounded by traffic it was still quiet enough for us to sleep well. (Room 209) Staff were friendly and helpful. Full breakfast buffet. We has scrambled eggs, sausage patties, a danish, orange juice and coffee. They also offered DIY waffles, hot and cold cereal, and yogurt.

Room Tip: We liked our room upstairs in the southeast wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsStacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMor179, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

We appreciate your business and thank you for your review. The Quality Inn and Suites is priced reasonable and supplies a complimentary full hot breakfast. All guest rooms are continually going thru renovations. We provide free WiFi, a large closet with mirrored sliding doors, and a large flat-screen 32 inch TV. The sink area had an antique-style vanity, and a separate counter for coffeemaker, microwave, and refrigerator. Considered we are surrounded by traffic it is still quiet. Staff are always friendly and helpful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Portland International Airport
0.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Portland Airport
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Portland Airport
Econo Lodge Portland Airport
#105 of 146 in Portland
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Portland Airport
2.8 mi away
Ramada Portland
Ramada Portland
#75 of 146 in Portland
958 reviews
1.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Airport

Address: 9727 NE Sandy Blvd, Portland, OR 97220-4226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 146 Hotels in Portland
Price Range: $65 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This upscale hotel boasts executive guest rooms and luxury suites which are beautifully appointed with deluxe pillow-top mattresses, tasteful armoire enclosures for televisions, granite shower surrounds and countertops, and chairs with ottomans for relaxing. All rooms come equipped with refrigerators, microwaves, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and European-style coffee makers. Each guest will be able to enjoy our full hot Breakfast served in the morning, with build your own waffles, hot biscuits and gravey, scrambled eggs, sausage links, yogurt and much more. During the summer months make sure to stop by our sparkiling outdoor pool that is open daily from 10am-10pm. You will notice and experience something different at the Quality Inn & Suites Airport Convention Center. The warm and friendly staff provides superior guest service. Let us exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn & Suites Airport Hotel Portland
Quality Inn And Suites Airport Convention Center
Quality Inn Hotel Airport
Quality Inn Portland
Portland Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing