We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for the South end of downtown Portland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
University Place Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #79 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We were going to a play at the Keller Auditorium and this hotel is just two blocks away. The parking was cheaper than most downtown hotels and we did not have to drive while we were there. It is also right in the mix with Portland State University. The service was great. The breakfast was good. The wifi is a bit tricky to set up, but once going was really fast with no dropping out or not being able to log in. The hotel itself is a bit dated and the room, although clean looks like it could use an update. When we got back from the play, there was no hot water for a shower, although there was plenty the next morning. Overall, we were satisfied, but not overwhelmed. Occasionally, when the rest of downtown Portland is booked, this hotel has rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GeoT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (505)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

323 - 329 of 505 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2014

This was my 3rd stay at this hotel in the last four years. Comfort in the familiar, I suppose. This time around, I can't say I was as charmed or satisfied as I was in years previous. I've read (and seen pictures on the hotel website) that some rooms have been upgraded, and perhaps these are a different story from the outdated rooms. Previously, the aged decor and basic room features weren't a deterrent as this was outweighed by the location which allows for walking many places as well as quick access to the Max and the street car. The front desk will also hold your luggage the next day at no charge, which was huge incentive to return here. This go around, though the room (239, I believe) looked decent enough at an initial glance, it didn't take long for flaws to be noticed. The room wasn't well cleaned, as evidenced by the multiple hairs on the bathroom floor. The shower had mold, which I would think could be easily addressed (at least on a superficial level) by re-cauking or using a simple bleach pen. It just didn't seem like there was much care into making the room nice. The main issue I had was the air quality. The room caused an allergic reaction something terrible and made for an awful night of trying to sleep. I am not sure if the AC filter was dirty, if the walls were stained with old nicotine, or if there was a mold/mildew issue, but this was enough of a deterring factor where I probably wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: You'll probably want to invest in one of the upgraded rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nica1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

not a very clean place. very old property, in a dire need of upgrade. wifi internet was good. breakfast was very good. location not very easy access from and to the highway. staff was friendly. they charge a parking fee :). lots of good places to eat at a walking distance.

Room Tip: for students only i guess
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rizwan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

The kids loved the pool, so we hung out there half the day. Breakfast line was long due to the visiting dragon boat crews. Front desk staff super friendly. One room was overheated. Once the streetcar track is opened, it will be very convenient to get around on transit. We will come again

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atwoodjohn03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

The property has a great location to attend a seminar at PSU, the area is quiet, safe and peaceful but there's a problem related with connectivity. There's no WiFi in the rooms and your only option is at the lobby to catch, if you're lucky, the PSU WiFi. The property is in general outdated and no family friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOlmedo0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

The location was perfect for me as I was attending a conference at the university. It is also conveniently close to the center of town. Apart from that, it's pretty bad. My room looked like it had not been updated since the 70s. Gum stuck on the carpet, polyester bedspread, very old-fashioned bathroom, no wi-fi. I would not go back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne-Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We were visiting our friends from Portland state university. So this was the only place which seemed closest and neat ONLINE. So we booked a deluxe double bed room.
When we reach the hotel, they give us such a small room with no wifi instead we had to pull out some cable wire to get wifi. It was so terrible and also had no coffee maker, no microwave and TV was so old-fashioned. The carpets were dirty, suffocating rooms. The funiest part is when other friends of ours booked the same room they actually got a room with wifi and a bigger room with coffe maker and everything.When we ask the front desk as to why they gave us such a small room, they tell us they gave us the wrong room. Instead of the deluxe they gave us the standard. It was soo annoying. This hotel made our vacation one of the most terrible one ! The deluxe room is also not as a deluxe room should be. Its more like the general standard room you would get in other hotels. This hotel is a total nonsense. Please donot opt for this and save yourself for a good trip.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rosy999Up
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Hyatt House Portland / Downtown
Downtown
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Modera
Hotel Modera
#28 of 144 in Portland
1,982 reviews
Park Lane Suites & Inn
#52 of 144 in Portland
739 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Place Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Place Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 310 SW Lincoln St, Portland State University, Portland, OR 97201-5007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Price Range: $99 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Place Hotel and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable rooms and conference space with easy access to everything in downtown including Pioneer Square, Saturday Market, and Portland Art Museum. TriMet public transportation located right in front of the hotel. Outdoor seasonal pool, free WiFi and giant cookie upon check-in are just a few of our great amenities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your University Place Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Place Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing