We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
University Place Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #79 of 146 Hotels in Portland
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Lots of meeting rooms. The sleeping rooms are adequate but old. My room was clean. The staff was friendly and provided good service. The restaurant menu had NO veg options but the chef did prepare a nice pasta dish for us.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (517)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

366 - 372 of 517 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

Staff great and accomodating. Rooms Clean. Breakfast excellent. Hotel is a bit dated. Great value. Outside of Building and hallways needs a good powerwash and paint job to brighten it up. Ask for a room around the swimming pool. as the rest of the hallways are dark and enough lighting due to layout of building. Wi-Fi is not strong, intermittent. 5-10min walk to starbucks, pizza, food trucks and public transit. Not much to do in area as University district and business area. Hotel located opposite side of downtown (10min with tram). We stayed for 4 days. We would buy the daily bus pass a few times. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room around the pool. Nice, sunny and bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rochester1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I stayed here to attend a convention across the river where the rooms were either very expensive or run-down.

The hotel is a five minute walk from the end of the green-yellow MAX line so it was convenient to get to the hotel as long as the trains were running. Several bus lines also service this part of town. Check the schedules!

Rooms are clean, quiet, and reasonably priced. Breakfast is basic hot buffet: eggs, breakfast meat, cereal, toast, yogurt, juice, coffee. Nothing great but not bad for free.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

rooms were clean, nice pool, awesome breakfast BUT would have been nice if our check in was more informative, didn't tell us about anything really, didn't find out about free breakfast until the next day, and didn't give us complimentary cookies until the next day, different staff of course,

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liks1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Average+ rooms. Clean. Quiet - even on the front side and second floor. Nice modest pool. Excellent large free breakfast (but horrible coffee). Great parking. Friendly staff. Easy to find. We will return.

Room Tip: Room beside stairwell and facing parking lot was NOT noisy. Surprise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CGJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

About the only thing to recommend this hotel is the low price, but you get what you pay for. I stayed here a week while attending a conference at Portland State in the summer of 2013. It has a very complex layout, which I found hard to navigate. I had requested a room on the first floor, since I have a mild disability. I did get a room on the first floor, but didn't realize until I got there that getting to it from the hotel lobby involved climbing several short flights of stairs (up and down) to get to it. Hotel was unable or unwilling to provide a more convenient room when I asked.

The rooms themselves were very dated and didn't look like they had been upgraded for a couple of decades. It was basically clean, but not exceptionally so. Room air conditioner was extremely loud as it cycled on and off all night, making it hard to sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Awalsh58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I wasn't sure what to expect after reading some of the reviews, but was pleasantly surprised when I arrived. I thought this hotel was a great value. Our room was clean, quiet and comfortable and breakfast was good. Our only complaint was that we didn't know there was a parking fee of $12 a day. I am so glad that we stayed here for our 2 nights in Portland and saved our money, I almost stayed at a much more expensive hotel and this hotel was perfectly fine.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank globetrotter711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Hotel Modera
Hotel Modera
#31 of 146 in Portland
2,006 reviews
Downtown
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Lane Suites & Inn
#54 of 146 in Portland
747 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Downtown
Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Place Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Place Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 310 SW Lincoln St, Portland State University, Portland, OR 97201-5007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 146 Hotels in Portland
Price Range: $84 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Place Hotel and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable rooms and conference space with easy access to everything in downtown including Pioneer Square, Saturday Market, and Portland Art Museum. TriMet public transportation located right in front of the hotel. Outdoor seasonal pool, free WiFi and giant cookie upon check-in are just a few of our great amenities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your University Place Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Place Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing