We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Softball World Series Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
University Place Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #78 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Waco, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Softball World Series Trip”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Previously being employed as a Hotel lead engineer/maintenance employee I have seen several things that could improve here. If you are a host hotel for an event such as this you should ensure that you have everything squared away prior to everyone's arrival to include that all of your ice machines work, all of your soda machines are being filled daily, your laundry facilities machines coin bins are being emptied daily, and that your bar/restaurant are not closing early or running out of things. During our stay on Friday and Saturday night the bar closed at 10 P.M. which meant that if you wanted a place to hang out for a few drinks you couldn't unless you left the hotel. unless you called and complained.... your room was only partially cleaned, your trash not emptied, no clean cups, nor is your toilet cleaned, the side walk would have had more cushion than your bed... you had to pay to park in the hotel parking lot on top of paying for your room.. the cook in the restaurant had a attitude when the waiter would ask about your food and because the cook didn't want to stay late the bartender had no choice but to close...so customer service being a restaurant manager for eight years myself they totally sucked and wouldn't recommend to anyone

Room Tip: Don't forget to hang your tag on your mirror if you take it down to keep from obstructing your d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronald L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    135
    148
    71
    52
See reviews for
103
110
55
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Close to waterfront promenade and right near street car. Very quiet neighborhood and hotel. Hotel staff polite. Continental breakfast was generous. AVIS located in the lobby and the staff was very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SummerRoadTrip2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ca
Level Contributor
128 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Very nice hotel, very centric to downtown Portland. Rooms were spacious and clean. Linens were very good and it had wired network on top. Hot breakfast were good and included in the price. There is no way you can beat the price for a downtown hotel, it is a bit jaded and in need of carpet replacements in the rooms and in the hallways. Service was spotty, we asked for shampoo that was not left in the room the next day and never got it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank capun1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2013

While this wasn't a 5 star accommodation by any stretch of the imagination, it was definitely worth what I paid. It was within a ten minute walk of the downtown area, and had a small but usable gym.

One thing I really didn't like was the service staff on the last day kept on entering the room to try to clean, even though the check out time was noon.

Room Tip: Room was on the main floor, and it made me a little unsecure as there was a parking lot right outsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank radiophobic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The good:
* Good price for location. Downtown is about 1-3 miles walk; tram is within a couple of blocks.
* Plenty of food trucks and small restaurants within a 10 minute walk.
* Small convenience store within 10 minute walk.
* Fridge and microwave in room.

The bad:
* Old, dilapitated, gloomy with rudimentary bedding.
* Allergens! I had an asthma attack within an hour being in the room and I do not easily get an attack.
* Very noisy. Highway is close and all rooms have window ac/heating units. All these noises stream through glass doors that do not close well. Ask for a room facing the pool to reduce noise from highway. Luckily I visited outside student season so neighbors were no problem.
* Strange personnel. They were more concerned about me trashing the room (really a 40+ yr old?) than me being comfortable (no reaction to my complaint about asthma attack-not even an 'are you okay').

Unless you are a student and used to living in dirty, noisy places-I would avoid this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allergictraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Portland hotels

Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I dub this a secret hotel as you won't find this hotel on most of the major travel agency websites (Expedia, Priceline, etc.). This hotel is managed by Portland State University and doesn't adjust their rates for occupancy like most major downtown hotels do. Every hotel except for some 1-star dumps within a 2-mile radius of downtown Portland was sold out for various festivals/events going on EXCEPT University Place, which most tourist don't know about.

Overall: older but good three star hotel.

Pros: Has a pool, clean, very close to Max light rail station, easy walking distance.

Cons: Wireless Internet was terrible. Every five minutes it crashes/times out and requires a new login. Fortunately Portland is a 4G area and I was getting better connection through the data plan on my phone than the hotel's (PSU) wireless network.

Will I stay again? You bet!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southpugetsound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
402 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The University Place hotel is part of the Portland State University and appears to be staffed by students. It is located within 10 minutes walking distance of the campus center in the Park Blocks but it is isolated from the sights and activities of downtown Portland. There was been construction for a new mass transit line and bridge in front of this hotel for more than a year, so you may find restricted access.

This hotel was probably built in the late 70s or early 80s and definitely shows it age. The rooms are perfectly ordinary with foam pillows, reasonable bed, and the AC unit in your window. My room on the top floor never cooled down on a 90 degree day in Portland. The room itself was clean and every thing worked except wireless internet. Wireless has better connectivity in the lobby.

The breakfast area is just plain sad: located in a dark , mostly empty space with a few steam tables set off to one side, most of the bakery items wrapped in cellophane, large urns of coffee, and with a large screen TV dominating the space. Throw your breakfast voucher in the un-attended basket and help yourself to the uninspired scrambled eggs , sausage, and bacon. You probably won't be spending a lot of time here.

I put out a "please clean up my room early" sign on my door at 7:30 am. When I returned at 4pm, my room was not clean. So service is not a high priority here. (or perhaps the staff thought it was a 'do not disturb sign"?)

This is a budget hotel for downtown Portland and is an acceptable choice if you are just passing through or visiting the University. Parking is $12 per night. Easy walking distance to campus bars and restaurants.

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor on a hot day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoctorM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Hyatt House Portland / Downtown
Downtown
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Modera
Hotel Modera
#26 of 141 in Portland
1,920 reviews
Park Lane Suites & Inn
#48 of 141 in Portland
704 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Place Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Place Hotel and Conference Center

Property: University Place Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 310 SW Lincoln St, Portland State University, Portland, OR 97201-5007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Place Hotel and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable rooms and conference space with easy access to everything in downtown including Pioneer Square, Saturday Market, and Portland Art Museum. TriMet public transportation located right in front of the hotel. Outdoor seasonal pool, free WiFi and giant cookie upon check-in are just a few of our great amenities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your University Place Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Place Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing