We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“University Place is great for downtown stays - reasonable and clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of University Place Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
University Place Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #96 of 137 Hotels in Portland
Waldport, Oregon
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“University Place is great for downtown stays - reasonable and clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Great location in Downtown Portland. Just a few blocks to great restaurants, VooDoo Donuts, Jake's, McCormick & Schmitts, etc. Parking can be challenging, and the rooms are in a courtyard walkway outside.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    88
    112
    65
    45
See reviews for
72
89
40
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
105 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This place has skipped several update cycles and now resembles a Stanley Kubric movie. I was a little dubious about the carpet, and I really disliked the funky dark hallways. The room itself was fine and the bathroom newly remodeled. Wi-fi is spotty. The staff was friendly and the price is low, plus you get a warm chocolate chip cookie.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms facing outward from the courtyard if you need wifi. Construction for the street car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jotripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver, Canada
Level Contributor
337 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed here for two nights. We were looking for a centrally-located hotel but didn't want to pay the prices most downtown properties charge. This place fits the bill.

The corridors are a bit worn and the hotel definately shows its age. The room was OK - the bed comfortable and the room was quiet. The place was clean but we did have to request housekeeping after the first night as it appears they forgot to do up the room. There was a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker in the room.

Parking adds $12 per day to the bill but it was still under $100 per night.

The hot breakfast included in the price was OK- nothing special but it did fill us up both mornings.

The hotel is about two blocks from the streetcar line and so it was really easy to get around. It wasn't all that far from "downtown" and we did walk it a couple of times.

I'm not sure we would stay here again, but for what we wanted on this trip it worked out fine.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Close to the streetcars and light rails. Good food. I didn't like the dark hallways though. Room is not sound proof, you can hear the shower from the other room and people walking around.But would definitely recommend for travelers on a budget!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank psydz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Just a 30 minute brisk walk to the Pearl district where hotels start at twice the rate, this hotel is located by the university. Good breakfast with lots of options. Friendly staff. Although a lot of students stay there for football games, the room was quiet at night. Fine for the price. Did not like the $12 parking fee, but the rate could have just as well have been $12 more for the room so no big deal. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugh867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marlboro, nj
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The front desk staff is very unprofessional and rude and that stopped me cold since everyone in Portland seems so friendly. They do not make you feel welcome and there are much nicer places to stay in Portland. The room was dark, there is loud construction going on outside, I cannot recommend this based on the uncaring ways of front desk staff.

Room Tip: If you'd like a tip on choosing a good room, go elsewhere. There are many nicer hotels in Portla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank backpacker031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Portland hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Bitter front desk staff. They never look up to see who is in the lobby. Sales staff was put out when I asked about information on potential event in the future. They were quick to tell me they were "very busy with another in house group".They didn't know I was thinking about having a three day conference.nor ask. On a bright note the bar staff was really friendly and was quick to give me directions and make me fell welcome.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lincolngrillguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Park Lane Suites & Inn
#45 of 137 in Portland
4.0 of 5 stars 650 reviews
Downtown
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/RiverPlace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Modera
Hotel Modera
#25 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 1,683 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Portland & Executive Tower
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Place Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Place Hotel and Conference Center

Property: University Place Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 310 SW Lincoln St, Portland State University, Portland, OR 97201-5007
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 137 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Place Hotel and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable rooms and conference space with easy access to everything in downtown including Pioneer Square, Saturday Market, and Portland Art Museum. TriMet public transportation located right in front of the hotel. Outdoor seasonal pool, free WiFi and giant cookie upon check-in are just a few of our great amenities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your University Place Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Place Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing