We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of University Place Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
University Place Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #96 of 137 Hotels in Portland
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“good for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Close to the streetcars and light rails. Good food. I didn't like the dark hallways though. Room is not sound proof, you can hear the shower from the other room and people walking around.But would definitely recommend for travelers on a budget!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank psydz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    88
    112
    65
    44
See reviews for
72
89
40
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Just a 30 minute brisk walk to the Pearl district where hotels start at twice the rate, this hotel is located by the university. Good breakfast with lots of options. Friendly staff. Although a lot of students stay there for football games, the room was quiet at night. Fine for the price. Did not like the $12 parking fee, but the rate could have just as well have been $12 more for the room so no big deal. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugh867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marlboro, nj
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The front desk staff is very unprofessional and rude and that stopped me cold since everyone in Portland seems so friendly. They do not make you feel welcome and there are much nicer places to stay in Portland. The room was dark, there is loud construction going on outside, I cannot recommend this based on the uncaring ways of front desk staff.

Room Tip: If you'd like a tip on choosing a good room, go elsewhere. There are many nicer hotels in Portla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank backpacker031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Portland hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Bitter front desk staff. They never look up to see who is in the lobby. Sales staff was put out when I asked about information on potential event in the future. They were quick to tell me they were "very busy with another in house group".They didn't know I was thinking about having a three day conference.nor ask. On a bright note the bar staff was really friendly and was quick to give me directions and make me fell welcome.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lincolngrillguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I've stayed here 4 or 5 times over about 10 years. Used to love it - basic, inexpensive, good location, pool which my kids loved. But it has just gone down hill too much. I didn't mind all the construction in front - that is the City not the hotel. But the rooms which are quiet in the back are DARK - one small window that opens onto the outside corrider. There were not enought lights in the room to do much of anything. We were there in August but it felt like December in our room, even with the curtain over the window open.

The lobby offers no relief - also just too basic and tired. It isn't even that good a deal anymore. Next time I'm paying more and staying elsewhere. Until this hotel is completely remodeled, I cannot recommend it. You can probably pay less at the Days Inn or whatever else is in the immediate area and it won't be any worse.

Room Tip: As long as there is construction on the LIght Rail - ask for a quiet room in the back. It will be qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nleprohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
98 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We ended up at this hotel when we arrived in Portland and found that our condo had been double booked. The hotel lobby is nice and the desk clerks were very helpful. The rooms were clean (we had 2 rooms for 7 days) but pretty basic. Our rooms overlooked the pool which could be very noisy since the windows did not seal very well when shut. There was no way you could take a nap in the afternoon or go to sleep early because of the pool noise. Also, at the time of our visit there was a major construction project going on in front of the hotel which began early in the morning and continued on into the early evening hours. They are reconstructing a road or running the public transportation line through there so it doesn't appear that it will be done any time soon. The hallways to the rooms was very smelly - I almost turned around and went back to the desk to check out but once in the room I did not notice any smell. Also, be aware that this is called the "University Place" for a reason. A lot of student athletes, etc., stay at this hotel when they are traveling to Portland State University for meets and games, etc.

That being said, the location of the hotel was great. We were able to walk into town with no problem. The area felt safe (once you crossed the construction zone) and there were some small parks nearby to sit and read. The river was just a couple of blocks away - easy to walk to. The best part for us was that it was available when our other accommodations fell through.

The free breakfast was very good - hot food every morning (eggs, bacon, sausage, potatoes) as well as pastries, coffee, bagels, toast, cereal, etc. Plenty of room to sit down and enjoy a meal.

Room Tip: Stay in a room away from the noisy pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseburg, Oregon
Level Contributor
133 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Spent the night here on Monday September 10, 2012. The hotel was recommended to me by Portland State University, as my son was having an Orientation the next day. The hotel offered a cheaper price for parents of PSU students which was $119.00/night plus an overnight parking fee- $12.00 (ouch!), local taxes etc, grand total $145.88. Pretty steep for such a basic hotel. The nicest feature of the hotel were the warm chocolate chip cookies upon arrival and the morning breakfast. The rest of the hotel was just "okay". It looked like one of the hotels that had seen better days. The road leading to the hotel was bumpy and being completely torn up. The hallways were dingy and dark - a little scary. The outside appeared old, lightbulbs were missing on walkways etc. One nice thing, my bathroom didn't have a working lightbulb, I called the front desk and the service department arrived promptly and replaced the bulb. The front desk was friendly. Worse feature? Our room was overlooking the highway and the noise level was terrible. We heard the traffic all night. Would I recommend this place? Probably. But if it wasn't for the discounted price, I would have stayed somewhere else cleaner and nicer overall.,,

Room Tip: Dont get a room right by the highway!! The noise level is awful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OregonProud7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Park Lane Suites & Inn
#45 of 137 in Portland
4.0 of 5 stars 649 reviews
Downtown
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/RiverPlace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Modera
Hotel Modera
#25 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 1,678 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Portland & Executive Tower
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Place Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Place Hotel and Conference Center

Property: University Place Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 310 SW Lincoln St, Portland State University, Portland, OR 97201-5007
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 137 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Place Hotel and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable rooms and conference space with easy access to everything in downtown including Pioneer Square, Saturday Market, and Portland Art Museum. TriMet public transportation located right in front of the hotel. Outdoor seasonal pool, free WiFi and giant cookie upon check-in are just a few of our great amenities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your University Place Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Place Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing