We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Bar at hotel is best part of hotel stay” 1 of 5 stars
Review of University Place Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
University Place Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #93 of 137 Hotels in Portland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bar at hotel is best part of hotel stay”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

The bar "Lincoln station grill" is the best part of the stay at the hotel. The bartenders Megan and Stacy were great fun and made us feel at home. We will be back to see them. The food was great as well.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lincolngrillguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    97
    118
    66
    46
See reviews for
80
93
41
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Everything was clean and what you would expect, Not spectacular but solid all around. A reasonable walk from downtown or short cab ride.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edweber7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Dreary - that's the word for this place. From the lackluster lobby (no couches, just table with chairs) to the tiny pool to the worn rooms to the cave-like breakfast area. They charge you $12 for parking a night (which I assumed was a garage but it's just their parking lot so there's no safety benefit).

Our room was clean but, in the morning, we discovered stains on the blanket on our bed (not the comforter). The breakfast was adequate (with some odd, thin bacon).

What was the worse was that the maid, on a Sunday morning, knocked at 7:15 am and 8:00 am. Not good. When I told the front desk as we were checking out, the young woman there just looked at me slack-jawed. When I gently suggested to her that the right thing to say was "sorry for your inconvenience", she just continued to stare.

I would never stay here again. Worn, tired and they just don't care.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank westello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
356 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Nice location with easy access to the center of Portland and not far by car to the Rose Garden and other sights. Staff were friendly and helpful. It's an older property that's showing its age. Rooms were clean but a bit dark and dank. Breakfast offered a solid if simple range of selections that were ample in volume. The swimming pool was open when we arrived but closed for two remaining days of our stay ostensibly due to "a chemical imbalance," meaning the ph is out of balance -- easily adjustable. Some problem between the hotel and the city led to a ticket on my car between check in and when I could get back out to the car to put the parking permit inside. Hotel said they'd take care of it. We'll see. And parking was $12/night. Noisy AC. If you open the small screened window (sufficient for a cool Portland evening), then you get the odors from the smokers outside.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianTravelholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The first time we stayed was in June of this year. Due to our son's eye condition, we traveled almost four hours from where we live to see an eye specialist at Oregon Health & Science Univ (OHSU) in Portland. I found the hotel through an internet search. When I called and got the rates, I booked a room, as it was the lowest cost of any I had found thus far ($75.per night) for our needs (rate due to the OHSU discount U.P. offers).
Also, University Place was very convenient for us. It was so nice to leave our car parked and not have to worry about traffic and parking, as we can walk about a block from their front door and catch the trolley to the eye doctor's office AT OHSU. Also, the $12 for parking (which was the cheapest I found in the Portland area) drew me in.
The room was very clean. It could use some updating, but it appears to me that they maintain the property very well. We both found the beds to be a bit too firm for us, though.
My son and I enjoyed their complimentary breakfast, too. My only wish for University Place was for a small frig and microwave in the room. Oh, and I believe that the rooms only have two double beds (no double queens) but not sure. If you sleep together, then you can get a king. Be sure to ask. But no double queen bed rooms for those who don't want to bunk down together.
We're going back this week and, I'm sad to say, I've learned that they raised their rates from $75 to $89 a night. Parking is still $12 though, I believe. Guess I'd better check! Hey, maybe with this raise in price they can fix up things more and get those appliances I want! ha! ha!
All in all, nice place, nice people at desk.
Oh, and there was construction to the street going on in front of the hotel when we were there, so be sure to ask if you need to take alternate way in.

Room Tip: A/C / Heater may be a bit loud for some, but I used it for my 'white noise' to get to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mzV030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens Village, New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for four nights, attending a recent convention in Portland. On the positive side: the rooms were clean and the service was good. On the negative side: I was told of a $12 parking fee at check-in, which was not mentioned at the time of booking. There was no wi-fi in my room in C wing, only ethernet (which does me no good with an iPad) and no amenities like a 'fridge or microwave that one might expect at this price point. The breakfast offered looked nice but appearances were deceiving. The toaster took forever and the eggs were over-salted to the point of being inedible. Even the potatoes had a funny taste. I would never recommend this hotel to a friend and will not return on future trips to Portland.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Portland hotels

North Kingstown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

I have stayed at University Place at least 6 times in the last 2 years (I recently stayed here for an entire week), and I was only disappointed once in those 6 stays (and only slightly disappointed, because of some odd smell in the room and in the hallway). The rooms that I have stayed in have always been clean and comfortable. The hot breakfast items are nothing special (eggs, bacon, sausage, potatoes), but at least they offer cereal, yogurt, breads, and fruit, along with juice and coffee. One "complaint" that I have is that the hotel layout is very confusing. There are so many hallways and stairways in the strange layout that you can easily get lost if you aren't careful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces toward the courtyard. A couple of the wings of the hotel face a freeway ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyV930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Park Lane Suites & Inn
#46 of 137 in Portland
4.0 of 5 stars 660 reviews
Downtown
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/RiverPlace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Modera
Hotel Modera
#25 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 1,716 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality
Downtown
Hilton Portland & Executive Tower
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Place Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Place Hotel and Conference Center

Property: University Place Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 310 SW Lincoln St, Portland State University, Portland, OR 97201-5007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 137 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Place Hotel and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable rooms and conference space with easy access to everything in downtown including Pioneer Square, Saturday Market, and Portland Art Museum. TriMet public transportation located right in front of the hotel. Outdoor seasonal pool, free WiFi and giant cookie upon check-in are just a few of our great amenities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your University Place Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Place Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing