We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our pilgrimage!”

Rogue Distillery and Public House
Book In Advance
More Info
$69.00*
and up
Portland Brewery Bike Tour
More Info
$69.00*
and up
Beer Love Brewery Tour in the Pearl District
Ranked #50 of 448 things to do in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our pilgrimage!”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Had been excited about hitting the home of Rogue after being a longstanding fan for some time, and it didn't disappoint. We loved thumbing the Rogue beer 'bible' trying to find new and exciting varieties of Rogue to suit our mood. Only drawbacks were that the merchandise was a little over priced and the space itself isn't ideal for crowds...

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank BorderRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    64
    24
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brewery Tour in Newport, OR”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Enjoyed the Public House restaurant...but the real action is at the Newport brewery. The beer was fabulous - I prefer Dead Guy and Yellow Snow. It was a real treat to watch the beer I enjoy being brewed. The tour guide was sick when I took the tour, but his stand-in did a great job. It is right across the road from the OSU Aquarium, so send the kids there while you enjoy a little adult "me" time.

Visited June 2012
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
3 Thank CamCreech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The Rogue Ales (actual) Brewery”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I’m speaking of the actual brewery facility, not the public house (couldn’t find a separate listing) ...

Had the opportunity to visit Rogue Breweries Newport (OR) brewery and restaurant last weekend. You can always count on great beer and and good food.
Well, great beer any way. Granted, it was Sunday of a three day weekend – but the wait to get in still surprised us. Surprised us even more when we did get to go up to the Bar/Restaurant that between the two, there were 4 or 5 empty tables. Ordered drinks, then had to flag down the waitress to order appetizers. Again to order more drinks. Then again to order food. They seemed to have plenty of staff. When the food did come, it was warm – just above lukewarm. One person in the party ordered mac-and-cheese (it is really good!). It didn’t get served until five minutes after the burgers, and it was cold. We could not tell if the fault was in the waitress or the kitchen – but the waitress did spend a fair about of time chatting with the other servers. She was polite – when we could get her attention. In all, disappointing. I left an appropriate tip, not knowing where the fault was. But the experience was just not to our expectations.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank mabell1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
442 reviews
210 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Good Beer and Decent Food”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We really enjoyed the beer at Rogue. We went to both Rogue and Deschutes and preferred the beer at Rogue. They have a huge list of beers available so make sure to get the beer bible which describes all the different beers. My favourite was the Irish Lager while my girlfriend preferred the Hazelnut Ale. The place is not fancy at all, a very bar setting for sure. The food was decent and comes with very large portions. Would definitely recommend checking out the beers here.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NWT
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Refreshed at Rogue”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had a great evening at Rogue! Didn't eat there, but sampled about 8 beer between us (in small glasses!) The service was a bit on the rough-ish side, but the hazelnut nectar, and other delectables more than made up for it! Also, incase of any teetotalers, they brew a mean root-beer. Loved the no-cell-phone rule that was posted, and the related available phone booth. The beer menu is gargantuan, and our server was quite knowledgable, once he knew that we were interested in discussing process, etc.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cubabound2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rogue Distillery and Public House also viewed

 

Been to Rogue Distillery and Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing