We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great British Style Beer, Cozy Hideaway”

Tugboat Brewing Company
Ranked #3 of 215 Nightlife in Portland
Attraction details
Coburg, Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great British Style Beer, Cozy Hideaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

I fell in love with this place. Comfortable lighting, Old books, exceptional beer and a great bartender, Nicole. Before the music started for the evening the music in the tavern were sea shanty's and on the TV were oceanic scenes. We did not try the food but it seemed to be a bit more than just basic fried bar fare. We really had a good time though the 11% beer may have helped.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Momarx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    16
    9
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
109 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“a nice find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

Loved this place since the night we got lost and wanted a cozy, warm bar with no loud music and good beer and found this little bar. We went there twice, the tables, decoration and ambience are nice, there are books and games for you to grab, beer is good, though it is good almost everywhere in Portland, but in many places the music is horrible and too loud or it is too much party central with no personality. The only thing is that food is nothing special, but they just serve appetizers so its not the place to eat anyway.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank RifkaRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake oswego
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Food is ok, the beer is great, and the service is good.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

This a great micro brew in portland. It has a large selection of beers and some snack type food. It also has a bunch of board games if you want to grab a couple of pints and play some scrabble with friends. The main downfall of this place is they only take cash.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank eric p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
“Out of the way and out of the ordinary”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

We went on a Wednesday night and had a great time. They have plenty of games to chose from and there beer is excellent. It really is!! But the food is made somewhere else and is warmed up in a microwave; so it's not very fresh or tasty. The staff was friendly, the atmosphere cozy ( they have a fireplace, books everywhere and a piano you can play), and the beer: that's right - EXCELLENT! We left tipsy because we tried at least 3 full-to-the-brim true pints apiece. We stayed for awhile and played cribbage. It wasn't too loud but the bartendress assured us it is never really that busy. The max is a close walk, so is Voodoo donuts. Go! Just go! Just don't go hungry.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jared S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

This place is tucked in a small side street, an alley almost. The owner is great, greating us when we walked it. He gave us a rundown of the beers available and made suggestions for my less beer-inclined wife to find something she may like. The atmosphere is very laid back and welcoming. I felt like I'd known the owner my entire life after the first 5 minutes there.

We were hoping to go back again our second night in town, but there was a sign on the door saying it was too hot to be open.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank ChiTraveler48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tugboat Brewing Company also viewed

 

Been to Tugboat Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing