We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick, fairly reliable, reasonably priced.”

Metropolitan Area Express (MAX)
Ranked #8 of 447 things to do in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Hyattsville, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Quick, fairly reliable, reasonably priced.”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I am a long time user of the MAX and can say that it's well priced, pretty efficient and fairly reliable. No city metro system is COMPLETELY well priced/efficient/reliable. The MAX is one of the best I've ever had to rely on though. My only qualm is that it could run a little later. But other than that, it's perfectly fine. Much less annoying than the p.o.s. mickey mouse operation that is the DC metro system in Washington, DC.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptainAwethume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    492
    160
    41
    8
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
437 reviews
190 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Quick Ride”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Free parking and then a quick ride downtown. Gave us a chance to look around and see some of the city. Dropped us off right in the middle of downtown.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LLP1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“A good, but not great system”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were staying out at Jantzen Beach, so it was easy for us to jump in the car and go to the Delta Park Station and ride into downtown. A cheap $5 pass for the whole day at the easy-to-use ticket kiosk, and we were off. The trains are quick, especially out in the suburbs. Downtown, they slow down quite a bit. The frequency was not as good as you would expect, and we found ourselves waiting for quite a while, even during rush hour, when you'd think that the trains would be coming very frequently.

It's also nice that the same day pass ticket also gets you on the streetcar, which recently expanded to a new line on the east side of the river. This gives you good access to OMSI. However, the street car is even slower and less frequent than the MAX trains, so don't expect to get anywhere in a big hurry.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank steveston78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent way to get Downtown!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Max makes getting downtown a breeze. I'm from a small town and so driving downtown for me is a nightmare. We have been to Portland the last two summers. To get downtown we park at the Gateway station for free, purchase tickets ($5 for a 24 hour pass) at the vending machine near the tracks, and hop on the red line heading for downtown. On our ride this past month, there were a few interesting characters aboard. Great for people watching. We had one panhandler hop on, ask everyone for money, then hop off at the next stop. That was a little uncomfortable. Other than that... this is the way to go!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Krys C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gresham, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Gets you where you want to go.”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We have a great transportation system that will get you anywhere. I take it to school daily. What a way to stay out of rush hour traffic.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank adventurewoman2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Metropolitan Area Express (MAX) also viewed

 

Been to Metropolitan Area Express (MAX)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing