We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great way to recycle an elementary school”

McMenamins Kennedy School
Ranked #1 of 214 Nightlife in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
125 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A great way to recycle an elementary school”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

The Kennedy School in the Alberta Arts district is definitely a must see. Opened in 1915, later abandoned and taken over by the McMenamins Group, it has been beautifully restored and its hallways are covered in incredible artwork.
The school is huge, with sprawling wings in which you can find a theatre, a soaking pool, a restaurant with a beautiful courtyard, as well as lots of guest rooms.
You can easily wander around the premises just to check it out (I also recommend the Alberta Arts district just around the corner while you're in the area), but if you do stop in for a bite to eat the food and service is fantastic as well.
For lunch my husband had a burger and salad, and I had a African peanut rice bowl: both were excellent, as is the beer there.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tanis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    48
    15
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
195 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Old elementary school turned into a charming hotel!”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

If you go to Portland be sure to stay here! It's an old elementary school that the McMenamins have turned into a hotel, with each classroom being a guest room. However, make reservations early because they fill up well in advance. They also have a frequent guest program so that after you stay 6 nights in one of their hotels you get the 7th night free!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Movies, history and great character!”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I absolutely love this place! It's the best place in Portland to see and cheap, second-run movie. You can even bring a slice of pizza and pint of beer into the theater with you. Get early to pick your favorite comfty couch to watch the flick! Beside the theater, the building (a renovated elementary school) is really neat to just walk around in. It has about 4 bars inside (my favorite is the Detention) and a full scale restaurant inside. The beer and food is so-so for Portland but the character and amity of the property make up for it!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank KelseyIvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
184 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fun movie night”
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

This was our 1st trip here and it's a fun place. We had drinks and dinner in the cypress room while we waited for the movie to start. After the movie we hit the detention room floor the guys could get a cigar and they smoked while we sat at the fire pit in the court yard. We'll be back.

Helpful?
Thank anilif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseburg, Oregon
Level Contributor
137 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“"Straight A's!"”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Stayed here one night on Saturday, February 22, 2014. Total cost for a room with private bathroom - $135.00 plus tax.Our room was called "Golf In The Kingdom" #136 and was located in a newer updated wing. The room was a spacious, king bed, beautiful headboard, quaint bathroom with a pedestal sink, limited counter space, no tub only a shower, creative artwork on the walls, neat molding, stencils around the ceiling. Like all McMenamin's - this specific location is special and unique. The Kennedy School was built in 1915 so the details are amazing. There are 5 bars to chose from in the Kennedy School, so there is something for everyone of a different style. I was surprised to see the Detention Room - which was a cigar bar. Some of the things McMenamin's Hotels do not have are: televisions in the room, refrigerator, coffee pot but they do offer free coffee in the mornings for guests, soaking pool, theater, wifi and docking system for our Ipod. My husband and I bought the McMenamins Passports - so we plan on visiting all of the hotels within Oregon and Washington. We're having a ball staying at all the fun locations, trying new bars, tasting beers and experiencing all the McMenamin's venues. Front staff was very friendly and courteous. No complaints! Will come back.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank OregonProud7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McMenamins Kennedy School also viewed

 

Been to McMenamins Kennedy School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing