We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT PLACE FOR CONCERTS & SHOWS...”

Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
112 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
“GREAT PLACE FOR CONCERTS & SHOWS...”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is a cozy place when watching a concert or show...Parking is kind of tough downtown so you may ride the MAX(Metropolitan Area Express) or the bus when attending a concert/show here...Or else, go early so you can relax and not to be stressed out driving around...Downtown Portland is beautiful anyway so walking to this place is a joy...

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank anaklakay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    93
    22
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manzanita, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“No seating legroom at the Schnitzer”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

A group of friends attended the "Chorus Line" musical on October 28, 2012 at the Schnitzer. The total lack of seating legroom detracted from our enjoyment of the musical. Seating is so jammed together we could barely move our legs to maintain circulation. Only the shortest of people or children could be comfortable in these seats. Acoustics were fine, the hall is attractive however the lack of seating legroom ruined our experience. Do yourself a favor, avoid events held at the Schnitzer.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a city treasure”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

"The Schnitz" is an absolutely wonderful venue for the performing arts. The acoustics are great and the hall itself is like walking into a beautiful jewelbox. I've attended many concerts here - from the symphony to Jeff Beck--they've all been stellar!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank June P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon, United States
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Grand”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

we go to the Schnitzer for concerts and plays. We love the details and everytime we go we fell we're in for a special night.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ivy_Cristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lyle Lovett concert”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We went for a concert and it's always nice to attend a concert at the Arlene Schnitzer Concert hall. The sound is wonderful and it really does not matter where you are seated, the acoustics for the hall is pretty good.
The Lyle Lovett concert was almost perfect. He is a great performer and he draws the audiences' attention with his friendly chats and amazing voice. My only issue with the concert was that the lighting for the concert was rather poorly done. I felt it would have been much better if nothing was done for the lighting... it was quite distracting with the follow-spot going on and off a little too often... sometimes, simplicity is all it takes.
In any case, overall experience was great. Remember, any seat in the house is great in terms of acoustics. However, if you like to have a closer view of the performer - it would be best to get a seat closer to the stage.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank TanMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall also viewed

 

Been to Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing