We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find”
Review of Mama Leo's

Mama Leo's
Ranked #963 of 4,292 Restaurants in Portland
Cuisines: Caribbean
Restaurant details
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
128 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great Find”
Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

Out working in the east Sandy Blvd area of Portland and landed @ Mama Leo's for lunch.

WHAT A FIND! Reasonable local Caribbean, Venezuela food. Better than the food was the friendly service.
Don't miss this gem of a restaurant.

Helpful?
1 Thank Thx1138Molly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    6
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
157 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Delicious, Friendly, Inexpensive”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

My family and friends tried out this restaurant this week and simply loved it. The food was interesting, good, and inexpensive. The staff is very informed about the menu, will quiz you on your tastes, and then make a recommendation. Had no idea the place was entirely gluten free until we ordered dessert and were warned it was the only thing on the menu containing gluten. The atmosphere is very neighborhood, and the place is painted in nice cheery tones, with cute pictures on the walls. I will return, and now that I know it is gluten free, I will champion this place to all of those with gluten intolerance. Do no miss the fried cheese, and if OK for you, that gluten containing mango cake was deeelicious!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marcia_marcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Yummy food and frindly service”
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

We have been to this restaurant several times and not been disappointed. Family friendly with lots of choices and if you have trouble making up your mind the wait staff is happy to help suggest options.
Look forward to returning.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank YaiyaJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and service...and gluten free!”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

What a wonderful meal! Interesting and tasty Caribbean food. The restaurant is entirely gluten-free, but you don't have to be gluten intolerant to enjoy all of this food. I hosted a gluten tolerant friend who thoroughly enjoyed the meal. The service was amazing. This is an under appreciated gem in the Roseway neighborhood of NE Portland.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank migibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Carribean Flavors”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

My wife and I went to Mama Leo's last Saturday night with our grandchildren. The restaurant is fairly small but very bright and cheery. They were busy but went,out of their way to accommodate us. The food is vary tasty and the combo plates with plantains are quite good. Children's menu is limited so you might plan to share. Servers are very attentive. We will definitely return.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zagtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama Leo's also viewed

 

Been to Mama Leo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing