We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have to try it at least once!”
Review of Salt & Straw

Salt & Straw
Ranked #2 of 129 Dessert in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Northwest District
Description: Small-batch, chef-driven ice cream made by hand with local ingredients since 2011. We hope you love it!
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“You have to try it at least once!”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

This is a fun place to visit with teenagers. The first thing they ask when you get to the counter is which flavors you'd like to try; tasting is a part of the experience, and thank goodness, because how else would you make up your mind with so many unusual flavors? The only downsides to this place are the ridiculously long lines and wait and the lack of seating. I've been to both locations, and there was no getting around the wait. The line goes outside and down the block. If you get lucky, you'll be entertained by street performers while you wait. (BTW, for the review, you have to pick what meal you ate here, and obviously, that doesn't apply. I don't remember them having coffee or tea, but "snack" and "dessert" are not offered as options in the drop-down menu.)

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank G_c_A_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    555
    156
    51
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
267 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Very unique ice cream place”
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Unique is the word to describe my experience at salt & straw. I tried the almond brittle and was delicious. My husband and I tried the lavender but found it a bit too much lavender taste, so we did not like it, but it was unique indeed. Overall, a very nice place to taste a different kind of ice cream flavors.

Helpful?
Thank Sandyang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFO
Level Contributor
137 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“Salt and Straw should be Excellent Ice Cream and Coffee”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Stopped in 3 times before we actually decided to stand in line. My daughter lives down the street and always has us stop in when visiting. Coffee and ice cream are all excellent as you can tell from the long lines! lol

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WhirledTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sweet, wonderful, unique ice cream”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

This crowd knows how to make the richest, high cream ice cream with seasonal (sometimes weekly) flavors. You can get a 'flight' of four different flavors. We share one to try all the latest concoctions. It's a guilt-free zone as you lap up the wonderful stuff.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ann313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent ice cream, ridiculously long lines compounded by others cutting in line”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Let's face it - they have excellent ice cream! The flavors are nothing short of genius and the servings are generous. Prices are high and service is solidly above average for Portland. The challenge in actually getting to the front of the line to order your ice cream is that the line situation is poorly managed and management turns a blind eye to people repeated cutting in line. It can make a 15 minute wait turn into a 30 minute wait as 4-6 people keep joining their "friends" at the front of the line.

They have a great product and a good business model. They need to deal with the issue of repeated cutting in line of others that can substantially lengthen the line for those waiting their turn.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VoyageConsciente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt & Straw also viewed

 

Been to Salt & Straw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing