We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally unexpected”
Review of Redwood

Redwood
Ranked #456 of 4,292 Restaurants in Portland
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Totally unexpected”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

I was happliy surprised at the wonderful food I was served at this little restaurant on Stark. The menu was varied and the prices reasonable. I had the trout hash with all items cooked to perfection and beautifully plated. I liked the small size of the restaurant and the uncrowded feeling, despite the small space. Love the wood decor and the staff were very friendly and courteous.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happyhonu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    12
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
144 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“A Gem in a Developing Trendy Area”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

It was girls' night out with 2 local girlfriends. They picked this restaurant because it was reasonably close to my hotel at Cascade Station and because of the good reviews. We were a little skeptical when we walked in and found the restaurant empty. We really liked the interior - all done in dark wood with about 11 tables and a nice big bar with high back chairs. It was casual and cozy. The menu looked really, really good and we couldn't decide what to have so we got our server (who was very personable) to tell us about the various, interesting dishes. The menu is small but has good variety and unusual items. They had a few drinks on special so I ordered a special hot drink because it sounded so good and I thought I was coming down with a cold. It was so good I could have drunk a gallon of it and I must say I never did develop a cold. I think that drink did it! My friends had martinis which they really enjoyed. The food was absolutely amazing! Susie in the kitchen can really cook. We started with chicken wings and they were huge. With them we had cheddar and corn fritters. All 3 of us had the Chilaquiles for our main course. We could not resist after hearing our server's description of what was in them - crispy tortilla strips, roast chicken, green sauce, sour cream, etc. and on top of it all was a fried egg. It was the best Mexican dish I have ever tasted and I love Mexican food.
The area is a bit sketchy. I didn't feel comfortable walking around there alone in the dark and had to park a couple of blocks away. But you can tell that it is developing and there are some nice trendy stores and restaurants for several blocks. It won't be long until this is a very thriving district. We think the restaurant was empty because the excellent reviews pertain more to brunch BUT what is good for brunch is often good for dinner too. This is a great little restaurant and we will definitely go back and would recommend it to anyone. The food is creative and delicious!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank h0lym0ly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
56 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“New Neighborhood Restaurant”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Walked by this place a couple times before I actually went in. It used to be Bangkok Bites which was a Thai joint and I never went in there at all. Living in Montavilla I was a little skeptical considering Roscoes and a few other places around there are really good like The Observatory and The Country Cat but this place surprised us pleasantly. Great happy hour menu, awesome atmosphere and cool staff! Welcome to the neighborhood Redwood!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
147 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“A wonderful surprsing restaurant”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We ended at the Redwood for breakfast because we couldn't get into Country Cat. They are within a few doors of each other. We are so delighted to have found this darling restaurant. It is not a big restaurant, but, cozy and intimate. Kim (our server) was top notch! Very friendly, knowledgeable and provided great information. We shared the chiliquiles and hashbrowns. SO delicious. EVERYTHING was made fresh and from scratch. Both were very flavorful and filling. The hashbrowns were crispy and flat-ish, not bulky and floating in butter. So good! We definitely will be returning again for breakfast and dinner. Do yourself a favor and give this darling restaurant a try. You will be happy!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jehesbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inuvik, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

A homemade veggie burger made with yams! Yummy! My friend and I both had the butternut squash soup to start with. Certainly warmed us up on such a miserable day. We shared the salad that had the apples and blue cheese. I should have ordered a whole one to myself but then I wouldn't have had room for the veggie burger.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Redwood also viewed

 

Been to Redwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing