We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of clarklewis

clarklewis
Reserve with OpenTable
clarklewis is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #250 of 4,345 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $20 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Taylor
Description: Clarklewis creates delicious, hand-crafted Northwest cuisine with Italian and French influences, and proudly support local, organic farms. With exquisite farm-to-table ingredients, Clarklewis is a sophisticated gem on the creative frontier of Portland's unpolished Inner Eastside in the industrial district. The chefs offer an ever changing seasonal menu that features fresh from the market produce. Chef Alex Diestra's hearty dishes from the wood-fired rotisserie find their perfect complement in the fresh, unmanipulated flavors of the best in local produce.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We had a great dinner last night. Went with the chef's tasting menu, and it was really nice not to have to make any decisions for the dinner. We got to sample a TON of food (2 apps, 3 salads, 2 pastas, 2 entrees, 2 desserts) for two people. Note that the tasting menu is just a selection of things that are on the menu already, with only a few minor changes, still it was a great option if you haven't eaten at clarklewis often as it gives you a great overview of the food. The Pastas were phenomenal. I was a little disappointed with the lamb entree, but everything else was outstanding (esp. the kale salad). Staff was very helpful and attentive, answering all our questions about the food.
Yes this place is a little pricey, but you get what you pay for.
We loved the feel of the place, really industrial, yet also cozy. The candles and smell of wood smoke, bread and seafood really set the tone for a nice evening.
Le Pigeon is still my favorite high-end place in Portland, but clarklewis was pretty close to it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trimess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    78
    21
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tigard, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Friday Night Event”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

ClarkLewis is among the many farm to fork restaurants in Portland, but the service and food is at the top of the list. The seating is open and modern, with great table placements, but the ambiance is modern. It's in the near east side of downtown Portland, and easy to find parking along Water Ave. My wife loved the beet salad and the lamb taglietelle. We also had the sole and pork entree. Everything was wonderful, and the service outstanding. We look forward to visiting again!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joelovesliving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Portland dining at its best”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We have been wanting to try Clarklewis for quite a while. We finally went this last weekend, and now we wonder why we waited so long. The ambiance of the restaurant is very modern, but not cold or stark. The industrial setting belies the warmth of the mood inside. This is also a wonderful example of a restaurant that is very upscale, but doesn't ever give off the snooty, upscale attitude.

The food, of course, is why you really go to any restaurant, and Clarklewis does not disappoint. There were three of us, and we each tried something different. Then we were at a loss to say which meal we thought was better. The house wine is very good and very reasonably priced. The meals here are not inexpensive, but they are no more than many restaurants of this caliber, and Clarklewis is worth it more than many.

We have continued to talk about what a wonderful two hour evening it was and we still smile broadly at the memories. This is Portland dining at its best!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dinner-wine-romance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Not stingy”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Ordered their crab fetticini. Was not disappointed. Pasta was made on site and there were nice chunks of crab. Many times I have been disappointed at other restaruants because the portion of crab so very small. The overall taste was wonderful, service was excellent. I plan to go back...hope this dish will stil be on the menu.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gearhart, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
468 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Very good with great service”
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

We have wanted to try this place for years and this was our chance when I was nearby for a seminar. We arrived just before noon and found a place to park. The place was half full at first but filled up and there were lots of regulars. We didn't try the cocktails. The waiter knew the wine list but convinced us to try a Sicilian white he didn't know but thought would be interesting. It was great. My wife started with cauliflower soup and it was great. I started with a salad that was just ok. My grouper with lentils was fabulous. My wife really enjoyed spaghetti with Parmesan, pancetta and egg. We finished with chocolate and cookies which was mostly cookies but very good. I had a fabulous cappucino which might have been the best ever. Our waiter was attentive and other staff helped a lot. With an open kitchen you can appreciate what is going on: a mosh pit of activity punctuated by crashes from which emerges wonderful food. Worth going out of your way. It is very good.

Helpful?
Thank jamesccasterline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed clarklewis also viewed

 

Been to clarklewis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing