We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top-notch flavors, relaxed dining, and contemporary art”

Daily Cafe in the Pearl
Ranked #412 of 4,293 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $7 - $16
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Neighborhood: Pearl
Description: Celebrating fifteen years of serving handcrafted food sourced from our region's bounty.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Top-notch flavors, relaxed dining, and contemporary art”
Reviewed March 17, 2012

This quickly became one of our few "go-to" places. Situated out the back door of PNCA, the monthly shows are gallery-quality art, fresh and thoughtful. Still, the pieces take a back seat to the food. I don't know the chef, but I seriously hope he's quit his day job. 8-)

The staff are attentive, flexible to individual requests, sensitive to our mood of the evening, and occasionally add a quiet enhancement to a special occasion. As much as I'd like to keep this place an open secret, I'm much more invested in ensuring its long-term vitality.

Also, they just made Portland magazine's list of Sunday brunches. The wait can be daunting if your chosen Sunday is both busy and raining, but it's worth the trip and delay for the whole family.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank norcekri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    23
    8
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Finally, a restaurant that takes a creative edge to food.”
Reviewed January 3, 2012

This little place was one of the only few that was open on New Year's Day and at first we were a little concerned given we didn't know much about it. The space is very airy with minimal decor - but nice. The menu had some very interesting things and so we endeavoured to try things we've never had before, so we ordered the broiled grapefruit with rum sauce, the mushroom hash, and the graham cracker pancakes. We love, love, loved the mushroom hash, it had a touch of curry/cumin in it which gave it a little extra kick and the eggs were perfectly poached. We enjoyed the grapefruit as well but we found the sauce a bit overpowering and would have preferred something simpler like brown sugar, cinnamon and maybe some pecans. The pancakes for us was not our thing, it was definitely creative but we didn't prefer the taste or texture (which was a bit gritty) and felt that the browning was a bit overdone. The fruit juices though, were definitely freshly squeezed and truly lovely. A solid little cafe in the heart of Pearl District.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank diva_enroute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“High quality bistro fare in the Pearl”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

The Daily has been a cornerstone spot in the Pearl for years. They are well known and rightly so for their Sunday brunch, which is always pleasantly crowded. In the summer, the tables on the sidewalk are available for extra seating.

They recently did some upgrades to the interior decor, tables and chairs, and it's comfortable and bright inside. They have also upgraded the menu to offer an interesting mix of seasonal fare, smaller plates, and local wines and beers. They now have a weekday happy hour until 6:00 pm that serves smaller versions of many plates. They make an excellent burger. Overall, their food is just as good as the more expensive restaurants in the neighborhood. It's a friendly reliable neighborhood place that's nice enough to bring out of town guests.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pendrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“Full of Fat”
Reviewed February 24, 2011

Today I went to the Daily Cafe with high expectations of fresh tasting sandwiches. I have a very tender tummy and thought ordering their turkey sandwich would be non-greasy and fresh, but I received my sandwich and was smothered with butter and pounded on with cheese. My tummy was weighted down ALL day. However, I did think their salads looked amazing and their chicken and vegetable soup was delicious.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaintyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best brunch in Portland”
Reviewed May 5, 2010

We're Sunday Brunch people and love The Daily best for their three course $13.95 brunch. Includes basket of mini pastries, options for a first course (I always get the fruit salad with yogurt) and then more choices for a creative main course. Great value and always excellent, fresh local ingredients. No reservations and very popular so recommend going after 1pm if you don't want to wait. Also fabulous for lunch and casual dinners.

Helpful?
Thank jillstaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daily Cafe in the Pearl also viewed

 

Been to Daily Cafe in the Pearl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing