We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“run outdoor restaurant”
Review of Island Cafe

Island Cafe
Ranked #62 of 4,292 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
BC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“run outdoor restaurant”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Hotel recommended this place and we are glad we listened. We got to sit right next to the boat tie up area. Watched the ducks eating any leftovers tossed their way. Happy hour ended at 6pm with several items reduced. We had the half avocado stuffed with shrimp and lobster wraps - very good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fatdogowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    64
    15
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What's not to love?”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

A little hard to find, if you haven't been there before, but once you do, you will be back.
Come early or be prepared to wait, there is often a sign up sheet. But it could be a lot worse, on a nice day the water, the boats, the kind people, what's not to love?
The atmosphere is huge! sitting on a deck with the sky above, ducks in the water (and sometimes between your tables), boats going by and friendly people dining and serving. Then comes the food, a good selection and some surprising options. We often visit in the summer when in Portland, and have for many years. If you have a boat you may tie up dockside, though space is limited. Well worth the walk from the parking lot, and plenty to see if you have to wait, which is a usual occurence.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HighDesertR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Island Time”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This floating restaurant is very casual, very friendly, with excellent food. There is food for young ones, too, so don't be afraid to bring the family. If you arrive at the dinner hour be prepared to wait a little bit as they are quite popular with locals and visitors alike. But while waiting enjoy a beverage and the atmosphere as you watch ships gliding in and out of the marina. Also, keep in mind this is a mostly outdoor seating establishment so the weather and daylight affects seating capacity and hours.

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful Ahi tuna salad, each done precisely to our liking. And my son thoroughly enjoyed the very legitimate lobster wraps and macaroni salad.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We were staying on Hayden Island and didn't want to drive into Portland for dinner, so a bit of online searching turned up Island Cafe. This is a great place, situated on the river and an open air cafe. Service was excellent and while my wife decided she didn't much care for the salad with bay shrimp (more what I've known as cocktail shrimp), we both wanted to return the following evening. Be prepared for a wait, though, as it is a popular cafe. We were seated immediately the first night, but were on a waiting list the second.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanesvill
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

While visiting Portland last week my sister and her husband took me and my husband there for lunch. It was great. The food was fantastic, the atmosphere fun and the waitress was delightful. All made for a great outing. Check it out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Island Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing