We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh, my! Oh, my!! The apple pie!!”

Marco's Cafe and Espresso Bar
Ranked #22 of 100 Coffee & Tea in Portland
Price range: $14 - $30
Cuisines: American, Diner, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast
Baker, Nevada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Oh, my! Oh, my!! The apple pie!!”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I'm staying near Marco's and have walked down the hill to enjoy breakfast and lunch. Both were excellent, affordable and "just as described". One afternoon I wanted something sweet, a "pick me up", so I went in, sat at the counter and had apple pie. Oh, my!! The BEST apple pie a la mode I've ever had.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret_Trail_Boss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    31
    5
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fun space, good food”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is a nice brunch spot. My hubby had the burrito, as did our friends, I had the breakfast sandwich. Both were tasty choices. Service was good, but pretty slow. They were packed so that may have overwhelmed the kitchen. Otherwise a nice morning outing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Disappointed”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

It has been a very very long time since we tipped nothing for meal but this was unacceptable. It took a very long time for the food to arrive and when it did it was cool. Our server never came by to ask how our food was or to refill our coffee until the very end, when I think she realized her tip was in jeopardy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank diane p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Off in the burbs, a wonderful surprise”
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

On the recommendation of the bookstore staff, we tried this restaurant for lunch. My husband had a tuna melt and I had the mandarin chicken salad. Both were very good. The onion rings were too mushy, maybe a tad undercooked. The menu is large with interesting choices. The server was friendly and fast. We would go back, especially for breakfast.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jdana130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Breakfast”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Enjoyed the perfect Father's Day brunch at Marco's. Everything was yummy, my son especially liked the maple bacon spread for his waffle! Great service and a sunny location.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MinneapolisMaude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marco's Cafe and Espresso Bar also viewed

 

Been to Marco's Cafe and Espresso Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing