We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noontime Lunch”

Mother's Bistro & Bar
Ranked #7 of 4,252 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $21
Cuisines: International, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Willamette Week's "restaurant of the year," Mother's serves comfort food classics made from scratch, perfected in the hands of four star restaurant-trained chef Lisa Schroeder. With melt-in-your-mouth biscuits, pot roast, chicken & dumplings and a decadent, different macaroni & cheese daily, home cooking is elevated to high art for breakfast, lunch & dinner. Full Bar & happy hour too!
So Ponte Vedra Bch
Level Contributor
271 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Noontime Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

We arrived for lunch after shopping in Portland without any reservations. We had a 15 min wait which was not too bad. I did notice that there was an ebb and tide with some people having a 20 min wait and some no wait at all. Service started out fast but our waitress became caught up in other tables and we did have a long wait for our food. My grandson was very pleased with his grilled cheese, and his root beer float was a real hit! The old fashioned root beer was delish. My husband enjoyed the soup and salad and I really enjoyed the crab cakes. We have eaten here before and I will say that the breakfasts outweigh their lunches. When we return it will be for breakfast/brunch as that is where they shine.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynne_judy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,423
    591
    156
    38
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delightful breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

Hotel recommended Mother's and we are glad they did. Sat outside in the sun and enjoyed steel cut oatmeal with banana and raisins and a side of pancakes. Delightful Saturday breakfast!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank HSimmelink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Fantastic breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

This is a very busy restaurant and it's vey well run, good staff that are efficient and helpful. The breakfast choice is huge. The food was excellent matched by the service. Can't go wrong.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
93 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Couldn't be better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stopped by around 10am with a large party, and were seated incredibly quickly. Gold star number one.

Our waitress was super friendly, accommodating (we had a party of eight), and genuinely interested in making sure we had an awesome time on our Portland visit.

The food was very well priced .. and portions were hearty (I am from Texas). The quality of everything was top notch .. no powdered/liquid eggs, real smoked bacon, loose leaf tea and local coffee, freshly squeezed juices, etc. It was certainly one of the best breakfasts I've had.

The location is square downtown, and the restaurant is very well decorated. Various desserts are for sale in the front of the restaurant, as well as various types of souvenirs (t-shirts, etc).

We came out absolutely stuffed...great food, coffee/tea, juices, and barely spent $20 a head. Never have I ever spent such a reasonable amount on excellent food.

Will absolutely return to Mother's on my next Portland trip, and cannot recommend this place enough. It is certainly worth whatever wait is needed to get a table .. don't run away when you see the line -- is it justified!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“unbelievable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

We ate a Saturday breakfast at Mothers, and while the food was excellent (we shared blueberry pancakes and a salmon omelet) the place was an unbelievable, constant stream of customers. If you do not arrive early enough. be prepared for a decent wait. The food was different and very good, but the staff amazed me the most. Constant movement in a very crowded environment, they performed with astounding efficiency. And they somehow took a brief moment to talk to customers as they busily continued their work. I do not think you can go wrong here unless you are impatient or do not like crowds. Go for the food and to see the people of Portland. A great experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank b k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mother's Bistro & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Mother's Bistro & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing