We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“9 Years Later - Biscuits and Gravy just as good...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mother's Bistro & Bar

Mother's Bistro & Bar
Ranked #8 of 4,238 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $21
Cuisines: International, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Willamette Week's "restaurant of the year," Mother's serves comfort food classics made from scratch, perfected in the hands of four star restaurant-trained chef Lisa Schroeder. With melt-in-your-mouth biscuits, pot roast, chicken & dumplings and a decadent, different macaroni & cheese daily, home cooking is elevated to high art for breakfast, lunch & dinner. Full Bar & happy hour too!
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“9 Years Later - Biscuits and Gravy just as good...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

My wife and I last visited Portland 9 years ago -- during that visit we stayed in downtown Portland and asked around for the best breakfast place. We were pointed at Mother's; since that visit, whenever we think about biscuits and gravy, Mother's is the truly memorable experience we both think about.

9 years later, we are visiting Portland once again and set off to find Mother's this morning. The only glitch if you will is that we ordered our eggs (they come with the biscuits and gravy) soft and they came firm and rubbery -- this in no way detracted from the delicious b&g but would have enhanced the overall experience.

Would we recommend? Absolutely -- one of the truly unique breakfasts we have eaten.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JFB1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,388
    586
    155
    38
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Ask a Mom how it's done....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have eaten out many a restaurant on our 30-day, 6,669 epic road trip. We have been surprisingly disappointed by the lack of logic of most food establishments. We are happy to say Mother's was a rare glimmer if hope! Even though they had a long brunch wait at 10:30 on a weekday, the hostess took my name and PHONE number to let me know when our table would be ready. Genius; and so simple. The coffee, food and service to follow was of equal quality. Everything was delightful, as dining out ought to be.
Finally.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank K8ejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good homemade food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We initially went for lunch which was really good, especially the chicken salad. We went back today for breakfast before we left Portland which they are famous for and were not disappointed with the food but we were with the coffee. Wonderful service especially as we sat outside with our dog and they brought out a water bowl.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa201149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
250 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great brunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

For an excellent brunch in downtown Portland, eat at Mother's. The French Toast Crunch is delicious and the service is great (although we were there on a weekday) and very helpful in answering questions.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LGBTtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, IL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Sat down on a Sunday afternoon about half and hour before closing. The crowd was gone, and we had the best service, and food! The chopped liver was just the ticket for me!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank nekkko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mother's Bistro & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Mother's Bistro & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing